CBL Gippsland: Round 3 – Warragul and Moe split results in standalone double-header

BOTH Warragul Warriors and Moe Meteors fans went home from Bellbird Park Indoor Centre happy on Saturday night following the men’s and women’s Country Basketball League (CBL) Gippsland results. In the earlier game, Warragul got the win against Moe by seven points, which was funnily enough the exact difference in the men’s game, but went in favour of the Moe men’s side.


IN the battle of two undefeated sides – albeit from only one game – Moe Meteors got up by seven points over Warragul Warriors. The Meteors claimed the win 72-65 to sit atop of the Gippsland Men’s table, but less than four per cent clear of an equally impressive Maffra Eagles (2-0). The Warriors remain near the top with a 1-1 record and sit in third, and a far superior percentage to other 1-1 teams, Lakes Entrance Pelicans and Korumburra Wildcats.

The points were shared around by the successful Meteors, as Jayden Van Dyk (13 points), Christian D’Angelo (12) and Liam Fitzpatrick (11) all hit double-figure points. Ben Van Dyk (nine points), Stephen O’Brien (eight) and Luis D’Angelo (eight) also contributed strongly in the win. For the Warriors, Tom Muir (15 points) led the way, while Murray Myers (13), Dwain Scott (eight) and Declan Bagot (eight) also finished with some respectable totals.


Moe Meteors 72 defeated Warragul Warriors 65


In the Gippsland Women’s competition, Warragul Warriors were too good for Moe Meteors in what was the Warriors’ first match of the season. After consecutive byes, the Warriors won by seven points in Round 3, being one of only two teams to be undefeated alongside Korumburra Wildcats. Moe lost its second game of the season to sit fourth of five teams, but still with a strong percentage of 86.39.

Dallas Loughridge had a game for the ages, knocking down 31 points in a stunning effort for Warragul. She hit five three-points on her way to the total, whilst teammate Mikaela Dickson‘s full nine points all came from long-range makes. Shanara Notman (eight points), Tanarly Hood (seven), Myah Healey (seven) and Jasmine Ferguson (six) also shared the ball around. For the Meteors, Caitlin Demczuk (18 points) led the way, while Samantha Labros (15) and Caitlin Prestidge (10) all hit double-figure points.


Warragul Warriors 76 defeated Moe Meteors 69

Picture: Basketball Victoria

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments