Australia announces 2022 Ashes squad

TODAY Australia finally announced its 15-player Ashes squad for the upcoming Women’s Ashes series against England.

The squad includes the uncapped Alana King, who was named over Amanda-Jade Wellington for the leg spinner spot in the squad. King is the only uncapped member of the squad, and is one of three changes to the squad from the team that beat India earlier this summer.

The other two inclusions are Jess Jonassen and Megan Schutt, who missed the series against India due to injury and parental leave respectively. They replaced the injured pair Georgia Wareham and Sophie Molineux, who are out with an anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) and foot injury respectively.

An Australia A squad has also been announced for a series against England A, which will run alongside the main Ashes series.

The Australia A squad includes the likes of Stella Campbell, Maitlan Brown, Molly Strano and Georgia Redmayne, who all missed out on the main Ashes squad but will play the A series instead. It also includes fellow internationally capped players Heather Graham, Erin Burns, Grace Harris and Elyse Villani.

Alongside all these well known stars in the squad is some of Australia’s up and coming young stars, including the likes of Phoebe Litchfield, Georgia Voll, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff and Courtney Sippel and Katie Mack.

Unlike the men’s Ashes series, the women’s Ashes is based on points due to the multi-format structure of the series.

Teams are awarded two points for each ODI and T20I win, while a win in the Test is worth four points.

Australia has held the Ashes since 2015.

The Ashes begins with a T20 at the Adelaide Oval on January 20, while the A series between the two countries also begins with a T20 that day but at the Karen Rolton Oval in Adelaide.

Australia Ashes squad: Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Rachael Haynes (vc), Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck.

Australia A squad: Georgia Redmayne (c), Maitlan Brown, Erin Burns, Stella Campbell, Nicole Faltum, Tess Flintoff, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Phoebe Litchfield, Katie Mack, Courtney Sippel, Molly Strano, Elyse Villani, Georgia Voll, Amanda-Jade Wellington.

Women’s Ashes series v England

  • Jan 20: First T20, Adelaide Oval
  • Jan 22: Second T20, Adelaide Oval
  • Jan 23: Third T20, Adelaide Oval
  • Jan 27-30: Test match, Manuka Oval
  • Feb 3: First ODI, Manuka Oval
  • Feb 6: Second ODI, Junction Oval
  • Feb 8: Third ODI, Junction Oval

Australia A series v England A

  • Jan 20: First T20, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
  • Jan 21: Second T20, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
  • Jan 23: Third T20, Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide
  • Jan 28: First OD, Philip Oval, Canberra
  • Jan 30: Second OD, Philip Oval, Canberra
  • Feb 2: Third OD, Philip Oval, Canberra

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments