‘If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ – World Cup winners to head to Birmingham

AUSTRALIA has named a familiar women’s cricket squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games, due to take place in Birmingham later this year. The squad is the exact same 15 players that won the One Day International (ODI) World Cup in New Zealand earlier this year.

Both Heather Graham and Georgia Redmayne did travel to that tournament as travelling reserves, but will not travel to the United Kingdom with the squad. This squad will also compete in a tri-series in Northern Ireland before the Commonwealth Games, which will be contested between Australia, Pakistan and Ireland.

Ellyse Perry has been selected in the squad, but it is likely to play as a batter as she continues to recover from a lower back stress fracture. Australian team physiotherapist Kate Beerworth said that “Her availability to bowl will be dependent on her progress in the coming weeks and on the medical advice.”

Both the Tri-Series and the Commonwealth Games will be T20 tournaments.

The 2022 Commonwealth Games will be the first ever Commonwealth Games to have cricket as a part of the program, so whoever wins the tournament will be the inaugural champions of the Commonwealth.

Australia’s Commonwealth Games squad: 

  • Meg Lanning (C)
  • Rachael Haynes (VC)
  • Darcie Brown
  • Nicola Carey
  • Ashleigh Gardner
  • Grace Harris
  • Alyssa Healy
  • Jess Jonassen
  • Alana King
  • Tahlia McGrath
  • Beth Mooney,
  • Ellyse Perry
  • Megan Schutt
  • Annabel Sutherland
  • Amanda-Jade Wellington

T20 Tri-Series Fixture

All matches will start at 3pm local time (midnight AEST) and will be played at Bready Cricket Club, Derry, Northern Ireland

July 16: Australia v Pakistan
July 17: Australia v Ireland
July 19: Ireland v Pakistan
July 21: Australia v Ireland
July 23: Australia v Pakistan
July 24: Ireland v Pakistan

2022 Commonwealth Games – Australia’s schedule

July 29 v India (11am local time, 8pm AEST)
July 31 v Barbados (6pm local, 3am Aug 1 AEST)
August 3 v Pakistan (11am local, 8pm AEST)

Group A: Australia, India, Pakistan, Barbados
Group B: England, New Zealand, South Africa, Sri Lanka

Semi-finals: August 6, 11am local (8pm AEST) and 6pm local (3am Aug 7 AEST)
Bronze medal match: August 7, 10am local (7pm AEST)
Gold medal match: August 7, 5pm local (2am Aug 8 AEST)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments