Star skipper returns to lead Aussies into battle

AUSTRALIA has released its squad for the upcoming ODI series against Pakistan, with the teams set to do battle in mid-January.

The biggest inclusion to the Australian squad is none other than skipper Meg Lanning, who returns to the side after taking a break from the game after the Commonwealth Games in July/August.

There are also several new faces in the side who could make their ODI debuts for Australia, including Phoebe Litchfield and Kim Garth. Garth has the chance to make her ODI debut for a second country, after she did so for her native Ireland back in July 2010.

However, the biggest omission is stand-in skipper Alyssa Healy, who will miss the series after injuring her calf in the final match of the India series.

Jess Jonassen will also need to prove her fitness after picking up an injury in the India series, but the Australian camp is hopeful she will be right to go.

There will also be the return of a Governor-General’s XI clash for the first time since the pandemic, with the side set to play against Pakistan on January 13.

Among the members of the Governor-General’s Squad for that match is a number of members of the Australian squad; namely Litchfield, Ash Gardner and Heather Graham.

There are also plenty of young stars set to take the field in that game, including Tess Flintoff, Amanda-Jade Wellington and Lauren Cheatle.

Australia will battle Pakistan in a three match ODI series, with two set to be played at Allan Border Field in Brisbane, and one at North Sydney Oval. The first match will be played on January 16.

The two countries are also set to clash in a three match T20 series, set to take place January 24 to 29.

Cricket Australia
Cricket Australia

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments