Final over chaos sees Tassie go back-to-back

THANKS to some last over heroics from Sarah Coyte, Tasmania has managed to defend their Women’s National Cricket League (WNCL) title by a mere run via the Duckworth-Lewis method over South Australia in yesterday’s final.

After Tasmania were bowled out for 164 on the final ball of their innings, the rain started to come down and the players were on and off the field a number of times, and the leader via Duckworth-Lewis changed just as much.

When it came to the final over of South Australia’s innings, the equation was pretty simple for the Scorpions. The batters at the crease had been in for a few overs and all they needed to do was hit four runs off the final over.

Then, the chaos began.

With Coyte with ball in hand for the hosts, this is how the final over went:

Ball One – Annie O’Neil was bowled

Ball Two – Amanda-Jade Wellington scored a run

Ball Three – Jemma Barsby was stumped

Ball Four – Wellington was run out at the non strikers end after a straight drive from Ella Wilson was deflected off the bowler

Ball Five – Wilson was dismissed LBW

Ball Six – Anesu Mushangwe was run out

Earlier in the game there had been a number of strong performances by players from both sides.

For Tasmania, skipper Elyse Villani made 110 with the bat and Naomi Stalenberg made 75, while Molly Strano picked up two wickets alongside Coyte’s four.

Courtney Webb made 83 with the bat for South Australia, as Emma De Broughe made 68, while Mushangwe and Wellington both took four wickets.

For Tasmania the win caps off yet another dominant season with its second trophy in as many seasons, while for South Australia, it is heartbreak for a second season in a row after losing last season’s decider as well.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments