Marvellous Mumbai claim historic title

THE Mumbai Indians have created history overnight, after downing the Delhi Capitals by seven wickets to become inaugural champions of the Women’s Premier League.

Delhi posted 9/131 from their 20 overs, Mumbai almost did not reach the title but made it with three balls spare.

The Capitals made a fairly quick start to their innings, but it came undone quickly when they lost two wickets in the space of the second half of the second over.

Delhi struggled to put together many decently sized partnerships, with one 52 run partnership the highest of the innings.

There was one particularly poor part of the innings where over an almost three over period they went from 4/73 to 7/75.

Skipper Meg Lanning was the top scorer with 35 for the Capitals, but she was only one of five Delhi batters to make a double figure score.

Meanwhile for the Indians Hayley Matthews was an absolute star with the ball, picking up 3/5 from four overs, which included two maidens. Issy Wong also picked up three wickets while Amelia Kerr picked up two wickets.

The start to the Mumbai innings almost mirrored the start to the Delhi innings, but after that the paths diverted.

A 72 run partnership between skipper Harmanpreet Kaur and Natalie Sciver-Brunt ensured that the Indians were going to be in contention for the win, and despite cutting it fine they managed to reach the tally.

Sciver-Brunt was the core of the Indians’ chase, making 60 not out to really help get her team over the line.

Meanwhile for Delhi Radha Yadav and Jess Jonassen each picked up a wicket.

The win was no doubt extra sweet for Mumbai’s captain Kaur, who has played bridesmaids to Delhi’s capital Lanning at international level so many times, so to reverse the script in her home country was no doubt extra sweet.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments