Hughes helps Blues secure final berth

NEW South Wales and Western Australia earned their spots in the 2023/24 One-Day Cup decider yesterday, after a dramatic final day which would have put script writers out of business. Daniel Hughes was at the forefront of the Blues’ victory amid an exciting triple-header of action.

>> SCROLL for final scorecards & standings

The opener put together a poised 119 (126) to help set up his side’s seven-wicket win over Victoria, while captain Moises Henriques (73* off 67) hit the winning runs to secure a home final against the Warriors. Victoria heartbreakingly missed out having come into the final day atop the ladder.

A half-hour rain delay at North Sydney Oval threatened to put a dampener on the hosts’ pursuit of 311, but the revised target was met with seven balls to spare. Earlier, Tom Rogers bashed the highest List A score from a Victorian (196 off 142) in a relative lone hand.

Among the opener’s highlights were 15 fours and as many sixes, as he accelerated towards the back-end of the innings. The Player of the Match was eventually felled by Ben Dwarshuis (4-40) with under three overs in hand, but the Vics failed to bat them out.

With Rogers accounting for well over half of his side’s runs, Peter Handscomb (52 off 55) was the only other real contributor. The Victorian captain formed a 103-run partnership with Rogers, who went on with things having brought up his maiden List A century.

Tom Rogers walks off after his historic 196 | Image Credit: Getty Images

Down in Hobart, Western Australia ensured it would leapfrog the Vics by defeating fourth-placed Tasmania by 52 runs. The injury-hit Tigers were chasing WA’s 4-320 hard, requiring a bonus point victory to sneak into the top two, but were ultimately bowled out in 36.2 overs.

The result means Western Australia’s hopes of a domestic one-day three-peat remain alive, thanks largely to D’Arcy Short‘s first innings knock of 127 (121). The opener formed a 147-run stand with Cameron Bancroft (64 off 77) to set a platform for the Warriors’ sizeable total.

Left with two fresh batters with five overs to spare, WA added 48 runs thanks to unbeaten finishers Hilton Cartwright (23 off 20) and Nick Hobson (29 off 17). Tasmania’s slim chances were dented further by injuries to Mac Wright (knee) and Mitch Owens (side) in the field.

It was always going to be a steep task, though half-centuries from Charlie Wakim (68 off 53) and Jordan Silk (61 off 53) gave the Tigers a sniff. Forced to give up the ghost at eight wickets down, Tasmania would have to settle for fourth place as the Warriors advanced.

Ashton Agar was economic as usual for figures of 3-54, while debutant Bryce Jackson peeled off 3-67 in the successful defence. Earlier, paceman Billy Stanlake was the sole Tiger to pick up multiple wickets as he snared 2-54 off his 10 overs.

The much less decisive fixture on the day saw South Australia pick up its first win of the season at the final time of asking, defeating Queensland by five wickets at Karen Rolton Oval. The Redbacks chased a miserly 218 in 44.1 overs to end the campaign on a high note, albeit still in last place.

Sent in to bat, the Bulls fell to 5-47 before stand-in captain Marnus Labuschagne (74 off 99) helped steady the ship. Another collapse of 4-16 was sparked upon his dismissal, before Matt Kuhnemann (36 off 23) and Mitch Swepson (16* off 19) flourished in a final wicket stand.

Jordan Buckingham rolled through the Bulls’ batting order for career-best figures of 6-41, while international keeper Alex Carey gloved a remarkable eight catches. Thomas Kelly (81 off 66) and Nathan McSweeney (52 off 90) then steered the successful chase.



RESULT: New South Wales def. Victoria by 7 wickets (DLS Method)
POTM: Tom Rogers (Victoria)

New South Wales won the toss & elected to bowl.

VICTORIA 10-311 (48.4)
Tom Rogers 196 (142), Peter Handscomb 52 (55), Sam Elliott 19 (21)
Ben Dwarshuis 4-40 (9), Jack Edwards 2-47 (8), Will Salzmann 2-56 (9)

NEW SOUTH WALES 3-256 (40.5)
Daniel Hughes 119 (126), Moises Henriques 73* (67), Blake McDonald 42 (35)
Sam Elliott 1-19 (5), Will Sutherland 1-57 (9), Fergus O’Neill 1-62 (10)

D’Arcy Short celebrates his ton | Image Credit: Getty Images


RESULT: Western Australia def. Tasmania by 52 runs
POTM: D’Arcy Short (Western Australia)

Western Australia won the toss & elected to bat.

D’Arcy Short 127 (121), Cameron Bancroft 64 (77), Sam Whiteman 49 (37)
Billy Stanlake 2-54 (10), Tom Rogers 1-64 (10), Paddy Dooley 1-68 (10)

TASMANIA 10-268 (36.2)
Charlie Wakim 68 (53), Jordan Silk 61 (53), Beau Webster 48 (42)
Ashton Agar 3-54 (10), Bryce Jackson 3-67 (9), Andrew Tye 1-49 (5.2)

Jordan Buckingham took six-for | Image Credit: Getty Images


RESULT: South Australia won by 5 wickets.
POTM: Jordan Buckingham (South Australia)

South Australia won the toss & elected to bowl.

QUEENSLAND 10-218 (49.4)
Marnus Labuschagne 74 (99), Dylan McLachlan 44 (77), Matt Kuhnemann 36 (23)
Jordan Buckingham 6-41 (10), Henry Thornton 2-20 (10), Nathan McSweeney 1-6 (3)

SOUTH AUSTRALIA 5-223 (44.1)
Thomas Kelly 81 (66), Nathan McSweeney 52 (90), Harry Nielsen 27* (33)
Gurinder Sandhu 2-26 (10), Connor Sully 2-65 (10), Jack Wildermuth 1-57 (8)


1. New South Wales | 5-2 | 22 points | 0.33 NRR
2. Western Australia | 5-2 | 21 points | 0.54 NRR

3. Victoria | 5-2 | 21 points | 0.23 NRR
4. Tasmania | 3-4 | 13 points | -0.20 NRR
5. Queensland | 1-5 (1 NR) | 7 points | -0.74 NRR
6. South Australia | 1-5 (1 NR) | 5 points | -0.33 NRR


February 25, 11:00am AEDT
New South Wales vs. Western Australia

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments