David strikes down Goliath-like total with final ball

A BOUNDARY from Tim David off the last ball of the match saw Australia claim a thrilling six-wicket win over New Zealand in the first of three T20Is last night. Requiring 216 for victory at Sky Stadium, David (31* off 10) got his side home alongside captain Mitch Marsh (72* off 44).

The pair bashed 43 runs off the final three overs after New Zealand skipper Mitch Santner (2-42) produced a clinical 1-3 in the 17th. From that point, David struck three sixes and two boundaries – including the winner – to secure Australia’s unlikely victory.

All members of the tourists’ top six got starts of over 20, with Marsh and keeper Josh Inglis (20 off 20) combining for an innings-high stand of 61. Each steady contribution – pivoted by Marsh’s knock – helped chip away at the mammoth total which required over 10 runs per over.

Things were not made easy by the likes of Lockie Ferguson, who claimed 1-23 in an eye-catching spell of fast bowling. Santner recovered brilliantly to finish with 2-42, nabbing the key wickets of Inglis and David Warner (32 off 20), who continues his international farewell tour.

Earlier, the Kiwis elected to bat first in Wellington and made a rollocking start. Finn Allen (32 off 17) and Devon Conway put on 61 for the first wicket, but things only got even better when Mitchell Starc removed the former after 5.2 overs.

Conway (63 off 46) and Rachin Ravindra (68 off 35) came together to consolidate, before getting going for a rapid partnership of 113 in 64 balls. They hit all around the ‘Cake Tin’ before being dismissed with consecutive deliveries, helping their side move from 1-61 to 3-174.

Australia’s leaders stood up to remove the pair, with Marsh (1-21) and Pat Cummins (1-43) proving the best exponents of pace variation and cutters in a mid-innings adjustment. Marsh was duly awarded Player of the Match honours for his all-round impact.

The two sides will next meet at Eden Park in Auckland, playing the second T20I tomorrow and the third on Sunday. One more win for Australia would see the visitors retain the Chappell-Hadlee trophy before moving on to a pair of Test matches.


RESULT: Australia def. New Zealand by 6 wickets
POTM: Mitch Marsh (Australia)

New Zealand won the toss & elected to bat.

NEW ZEALAND 3-215 (20.0)
Rachin Ravindra 68 (35), Devon Conway 63 (46), Finn Allen 32 (17)
Mitch Marsh 1-21 (3), Mitchell Starc 1-39 (4), Pat Cummins 1-43 (4)

AUSTRALIA 4-216 (20.0)
Mitch Marsh 72* (44), David Warner 32 (20), Tim David 31* (10)
Mitchell Santner 2-42 (4), Lockie Ferguson 1-23 (4), Adam Milne 1-53 (4)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments