Warriors wrap up domestic triple-double

WESTERN Australia has secured its third consecutive Sheffield Shield title after defeating Tasmania by 377 runs at the WACA on Sunday. The Warriors sealed victory as day four drew to its crescendo, with Joel Paris sticking a screamer in gully to see Tasmania rolled for 160 in the final session.

A dominant force on the Australian cricketing scene, Western Australia now lays claim to eight of the last nine domestic championships. That remarkable run includes a rare triple-double, with the Warriors taking out the four and one-day titles in each of the last three seasons – for the first time ever.

Now two-time Shield winning captain Sam Whiteman took out Player of the Match honours for his first innings knock of 104, marking his second century in a four-day final. His feats, and a fine 90 from debutant Cooper Connolly helped WA establish dominance from the get-go.

In response to the Warriors’ initial dig of 347, Tasmania could only muster 186 as in-form spinner Corey Rocchiccioli bagged 4-48. No Tasmanian batter passed 50, with Caleb Jewell (45) top-scoring en route to his side conceded a 161-run first innings deficit.

Fast-forward to the start of day four, and the Warriors had built an ominous 382-run lead in the third innings. Hilton Cartwright (94 off 206) helped push the total even further out of Tasmania’s reach, but fell short of a deserved ton as WA posted 376.

It seemed a fifth day of action was on the cards as the Tigers were set 538 for victory, starting in the final session. Their chase lasted only 41 overs as Paris’ catch sealed Cameron Gannon‘s five-wicket haul and an emphatic performance to take out this season’s decider.

Corey Rocchiccioli celebrates a wicket | Image Credit: Getty Images


RESULT: Western Australia won by 377 runs
POTM: Sam Whiteman (Western Australia)
POTS: Beau Webster (Tasmania)

Tasmania won the toss & elected to bowl

1st Innings: Western Australia 10-347 (102.1)
Sam Whiteman 104 (154), Cooper Connolly 90 (115), Hilton Cartwright 55 (63)
Iain Carlisle 3-65 (18.1), Jarrod Freeman 3-103 (24), Riley Meredith 2-65 (20)

2nd Innings: Tasmania 10-186 (92.0)
Caleb Jewell 45 (116), Charlie Wakim 33 (93), Jake Doran 31 (73)
Corey Rocchiccioli 4-48 (28), Cameron Gannon 3-38 (20), Aaron Hardie 1-22 (10)

Western Australia led by 161 runs.

3rd Innings: Western Australia 10-376 (124.5)
Hilton Cartwright 94 (206), Aaron Hardie 47 (89), Jayden Goodwin 46 (117)
Iain Carlisle 3-58 (17), Beau Webster 3-85 (22.5), Gabe Bell 2-54 (27)

Western Australia led by 537 runs.

4th Innings: Tasmania 10-160 (41.0)
Jordan Silk 46 (59), Jake Doran 31 (36), Bradley Hope 22 (42)
Cameron Gannon 5-23 (11), Corey Rocchiccioli 3-55 (13), Charlie Stobo 1-23 (5)

Western Australia won by 377 runs.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments