New name, plenty of new faces in green in 2024

IT is the dawn of a new era at the Dragons, with a new name and plenty of new faces at what was the Celtic Dragons ahead of 2024.

The Netball Super League (NSL) club that was previously known as the Celtic Dragons is now known as the Cardiff Dragons, and throughout this week have been revealing who is in their 2024 NSL side, and there are a lot of new faces.

The defensive end is totally new.

Nansi Kuti is a new face to the NSL, making the step up from being a Training Associate with the Dragons to a fully fledged member of the team.

Lucy Howells is coming back to Cardiff after last playing for the side in 2019, while Leah Middleton is also coming across from the Storm.

The final new defender is Jacqui Newton, with the Aussie leaving a hectic Australian netball scene behind to come join the Welsh side.

The midfield is all completely new too.

There is one retuning face, with Welsh national captain Nia Jones coming back to Cardiff after spending a year at the Rhinos, and she is not the only former Rhino making the move to the green dress with Elle McDonald also moving to the Dragons.

Beth Ecuyer-Dale has come across from the Mavericks while South African Khanyisa Chawane is also joining the Welsh side.

The shooting contingent has seen far less movement, with only one new face in the group.

Phillipa Yarranton, Laura Rudland and Georgia Rowe are all returning, while Hannah Passmore is coming across from Bath.  

The Dragons have also announced that Zoe Matthewman, Shona O’Dwyer and Millie Carter will be their training partners for 2024.

This squad announcement means that Chelsea Beard, Gabrielle Sinclair, Hannah Leighton, Clare Jones, Annabel Roddy, Ally Housley, Ella Powell-Davies and Shaquanda Greene-Noel are not returning to the club in 2024.

Cardiff Dragons 2024 Squad

Nansi Kuti, Lucy Howells, Jacqui Newton, Leah Middleton, Khanyisa ‘KC’ Chawane, Beth Ecuyer-Dale, Elle McDonald, Nia Jones, Phillipa Yarranton, Laura Rudland, Georgia Rowe, Hannah Passmore

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments