Western Australia names Under 18s squad for AFLW National Championships

WESTERN Australia announced its Under 18s squad for the AFL Women’s National Championships today, a day after Vic Metro and Vic Country announced their teams for the championships. Western Australia takes on Queensland in round one with two games at Subiaco Oval, before travelling to the Gold Coast where it faces Vic Metro, Allies and Vic Country.

Peel Thunderbirds and Swan Districts have the most players in the squad with seven apiece. East Fremantle is next with five nominees, while the remaining 11 players are spread across six clubs. AFLW Academy member and Subiaco player McKenzie Dowrick is expected to be one to watch after impressing against Geelong VFLW side earlier in the year, while Kate Bartlett and Sonia Dorizzi were revelations at the championships last year.

Claremont [2]: Sarah Garstone, Matilda Sergeant
East Fremantle [5]: Lily Bird, Kate Inglis-Hodge, Gabriella Radojkovich, Roxanne Roux, Teah Taylor
East Perth [2]: Tanisha Anderson, Mavis Lyndon, 
Peel Thunderbirds [7]: Savannah Ahearn, Kate Bartlett, Maddison Bedford, Sonia Dorizzi, Sabreena Duffy, Courtney Hodder, Sarah Verrier
South Bunbury [1]: Ella Smith
South Fremantle [2]: Tara Garlett, Shannon Whale
Subiaco [3]: Suzie-Rose Deegan, Abbey Dowrick, McKenzie Dowrick
Swan Districts [7]: Mikayla Bowen, Rikkiesha Carling, Caitlin Hill, Brianna Hyde, Mikayla Hyde, Emma O’Driscoll, Taylor Pescud
West Perth [1]: Jacinta Valentini

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
South Australian Under 18 Girls squad announced ahead of National Championships – AFL Draft Central
6 years ago

[…] with Northern Territory to form the Central Allies. The announcement has followed on from that of Western Australia and Victoria’s two […]