Victorian Young Guns Series squads announced

THE best young talent in the Victorian Football League (VFL) will take part in a revamped AFL Victoria Young Gun Series, which kicks off next month at Avalon Airport Oval.

After previously being an annual match played in September, with potential ‘draft smokies’ going head-to-head, this year the three match series will give recruiters the chance to watch over the best emerging talent in the competition.

The initial squads – announced on the VFL website – have potential for talented community footballers to be added to the list for future games throughout the year, with VFL coaching games record holder Gerard FitzGerald overseeing the program in 2018.

Priority in the Young Guns series will be given to players who are yet to play regular senior VFL football, ahead of members of the squad already earning regular VFL selection. FitzGerald will not only support the players in the program, but play a role in assisting the coaching groups that have been established.

Dandenong Stingrays Josh Bourke and Port Melbourne’s Trent McMicking have been named as respective coaches, with Scott McDougall (Gippsland Power), Darryl Wilson – (Former Bendigo Bombers/Strathfieldsaye Football Club Coach), Ross Gemmill (Frankston), Peter Mongta (Gippsland Power), Tom Curran (Coburg), Mark Wheatley (Casey Demons) and Luke Daffy (Geelong Falcons) in support.

For more information on the series, keep an eye out on the VFL website. or the VFL Facebook or Twitter pages. All three matches will be played as curtain raisers to VFL games.

  • Saturday, May 5 at 2.00PM, Avalon Airport Oval (prior to Werribee versus Collingwood, 5pm)
  • Saturday, May 26 at 11.00AM, North Port Oval (prior to Port Melbourne versus Casey Demons, 2pm)
  • Saturday, June 30 at 11.00AM, North Port Oval (prior to Port Melbourne versus Sandringham, 2pm)

The players named for the series are as follows:

First Name Surname Club
Nathan Boucher Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Ned Reeves Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Geordie Nagle Box Hill Hawks Football Club
Tom Freeman Casey Demons Football Club
Kieran Byers Casey Demons Football Club
Aiden Quigley Casey Demons Football Club
Mykelti Lefau Casey Demons Football Club
Julian Patterson Casey Demons Football Club
Jackson McDonald Coburg Football Club
Damon Cramer Coburg Football Club
Max Mitchell-Russell Coburg Football Club
Harrison Nolan Coburg Football Club
Lachlan Mitchell Coburg Football Club
Jake Page Coburg Football Club
Nick Dodge Coburg Football Club
Callan Wellings Collingwood Football Club
Jack Roughsedge Collingwood Football Club
Daniel Stanford Collingwood Football Club
Sam Ralph Collingwood Football Club
Kalan Huntly Essendon Football Club
James Peters Essendon Football Club
Joel Ottavi Essendon Football Club
Edyn Sibbald Essendon Football Club
Cody Henness Footscray Football Club
Corey Rich Frankston Football Club
Jack McHale Frankston Football Club
Mitch McCarthy Frankston Football Club
Aiden Domic Geelong Football Club
Lochlan Dhurrkay Geelong Football Club
David Handley Geelong Football Club
Louis Cunningham North Melbourne Football Club
Fraser Cameron North Melbourne Football Club
Liam Wheelan North Melbourne Football Club
Nick Hogan North Melbourne Football Club
Quintin Montanaro North Melbourne Football Club
Brendan Ryan North Melbourne Football Club
Ethan Penrith Northern Blues Football Club
Jordan Johnston Northern Blues Football Club
Alex Federico Northern Blues Football Club
Sam Fisher Northern Blues Football Club
Matthew Harman Northern Blues Football Club
Campbell Walker Port Melbourne Football Club
Ethan Phillips Port Melbourne Football Club
Matthew King Port Melbourne Football Club
Charlie Thompson Richmond Football Club
Hayden McLean Sandringham Football Club
Jackson Hille Sandringham Football Club
Cassidy Parish Werribee Football Club
Keegan Gray Werribee Football Club
Cooper Stephens Williamstown Football Club
Tom Schnerring Williamstown Football Club
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments