Pick-by-Pick | 2022 AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft

THE 2022 AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft has been completed, with 17 players added to AFL lists in the two-round intake. 14 of the 18 clubs elected to utilise at least one pick at the draft, with three teams opting to take in two players. St Kilda was the only side to come in with an available selection, but opt against using it as the first of six passes.

As expected, Dandenong Stingrays midfielder-forward Jai Culley landed at West Coast with pick one before Williamstown defender Kallan Dawson was snapped up by North Melbourne. The first spanner in the works was played by Essendon with its selection of Massimo D’Ambrosio, and the puzzle pieces fell into place from there.

Of all the players to find an AFL home, five were 19th-year prospects – including Culley – with all of them selected within the first 11 picks. Two players with previous AFL experience also earned second chances at the top level, and both landed at Carlton. The Blues opted for former North Melbourne defender Sam Durdin, and Will Hayes, who has dominated in their VFL program.

Stay tuned on Rookie Me Central tomorrow for a breakdown on all the picks and what each player may offer to their new clubs. Below is a full rundown of the draft order.




1. West Coast – Jai Culley (Dandenong Stingrays)
2. North Melbourne – Kallan Dawson (Williamstown VFL)
3. Essendon – Massimo D’Ambrosio (Western Jets/Richmond VFL)
4. Adelaide – Brett Turner (Glenelg)
5. GWS Giants – Wade Derksen (Peel Thunder)
6. Hawthorn – Max Ramsden (Sandringham Dragons)
7. Gold Coast – Oskar Faulkhead (Bendigo Pioneers/Geelong VFL)
8. Port Adelaide – Brynn Teakle (East Fremantle)
9. Collingwood – Josh Carmichael (West Adelaide)
10. Richmond – Jacob Bauer (North Adelaide)
11. Sydney – Hugo Hall-Kahan (Sandringham Dragons)
12. Geelong – Zane Williams (Woodville-West Torrens)
13. Carlton – Sam Durdin (Glenelg)
14. St Kilda – Pass
15. Fremantle – Sebit Kuek (East Perth)


16. West Coast – Pass
17. North Melbourne – Pass
18. Essendon – Jye Menzie (South Adelaide)
19. Adelaide – Pass
20. Hawthorn – James Blanck (Box Hill VFL)
21. Collingwood – Pass
22. Carlton – Will Hayes (Carlton VFL)
23. Fremantle – Pass


Adelaide: 4. Brett Turner (Glenelg), 19. Pass
Brisbane: Nil.
Carlton: 13. Sam Durdin (Glenelg), 22. Will Hayes (Carlton VFL)
Collingwood: 9. Josh Carmichael (West Adelaide), 21. Pass
Essendon: 3. Massimo D’Ambrosio (Western Jets/Richmond VFL), 18. Jye Menzie (South Adelaide)
Fremantle: 15. Sebit Kuek (East Perth), 23. Pass
Geelong: 12. Zane Williams (Woodville-West Torrens)
Gold Coast: 7. Oskar Faulkhead (Bendigo Pioneers/Geelong VFL)
GWS: 5. Wade Derksen (Peel Thunder)
Hawthorn: 6. Max Ramsden (Sandringham Dragons), 20. James Blanck (Box Hill VFL)
Melbourne: Nil.
North Melbourne: 2. Kallan Dawson (Williamstown VFL), 17. Pass
Port Adelaide: 8. Brynn Teakle (East Fremantle)
Richmond: 10. Jacob Bauer (North Adelaide)
St Kilda: 14. Pass
Sydney: 11. Hugo Hall-Kahan (Sandringham Dragons)
West Coast: 1. Jai Culley (Dandenong Stingrays), 16. Pass
Western Bulldogs: Nil.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments