Scouting Notes: 2022 AFL U16s – NT Thunder vs. Suns Academy

GOLD Coast Suns Academy finished second overall in Division 2 of the 2022 AFL Under 16 Championships, thanks to a massive 106-point thrashing of Northern Territory Thunder on Saturday at TIO Stadium. After a tight start where the Thunder kept touch thanks to three goals to four – trailing by just three points at the first break – the visitors broke away to boot 19 goals to three in the final three terms to run out 23.12 (150) to 6.8 (44) winners.

The writing was on the wall after quarter time, as the Suns built a handy buffer thanks to six goals to one, extending the three-point quarter time lead out to 37 points by the main break. In front of home fans the Northern Territory tried to keep within striking distance, but two of the last three goals of the third term was not able to get them close enough, trailing by 49 points with a quarter to play. Then the floodgates opened and the Suns piled on nine unanswered goals in the final term to more than double the margin by the final siren and made it look too easy, romping to a 106-point victory.

Gold Coast Suns had six multiple goalkickers including five players who kicked three or more, lead by Harry Cook and Caleb Nancarrow who were the Queensland side’s best. They not only slotted three majors apiece, but also worked hard with some eye-catching work up the field. William Munro (four goals) and Finlay Gray (three) were outstanding, while Joe Kennedy arrived for party time in the last term, slotting three of his side’s nine final term goals. Zeke Uwland and Suns Academy Most Valuable Player (MVP) Leonardo Lombard were also among the best on the day.

For the Northern Territory, it was a difficult end to the carnival after a promising finish against the Swans Academy. Valic Toby and the exciting Waylon Davey both slotted two majors to be the multiple goalkickers, whilst Edwin Nyembo and Stanley Waistcoast also caught the eye with their work in the defensive half of the ground.

NT THUNDER 3.4 | 4.5 | 6.8 | 6.8 (44)
SUNS ACADEMY 4.1 | 10.6 | 14.9 | 23.12 (150)


NT: V. Toby 2, W. Davey 2, P. Patrick, C. Shadforth
Suns: W. Munro 4, H. Cook 3, C. Nancarrow 3, F. Gray 3, J. Kennedy 3, M. Field 2, B. Everitt, Z. Uwland, L. Lombard, J. Murray, K. Curtis


NT: E. Nyembo, S. Waistcoat, W. Davey, C. Shadforth, A. Scott
Suns: H. Cook, C. Nancarrow, Z. Uwland, L. Lombard, M. Field

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments