2022 AFL Under 17 Futures squad announced

THE AFL has today announced a list of 48 players set to feature in the 2022 Under 17 Futures match on AFL Grand Final day. Usually an annual showcase, the last edition was played in 2019 and returns for a fifth instalment as the AFL pathway resumes its national normalcy.

Squad members will come together for a training camp in the build-up to the grand final curtain raiser, before being split into two sides. This year, the teams will be named after retired champions Bachar Houli (Essendon & Richmond, 232 games) and Marc Murphy (Carlton, 300 games).

All states and territories are represented in the overall squad, with Vic Metro and South Australia each contributing nine players. Vic Country and Western Australia boast eight representatives apiece, leading Queensland (six), NSW-ACT (three), Tasmania (three), and the Northern Territory (two).

There are nine AFL Academy members set to feature, including pick early frontrunners for the class of 2023 in Nick Watson and Harley Reid. Among the many more top talents to keep an eye out for are South Australia’s Ashton Moir, the West’s Daniel Curtin, gun Tasmanian Ryley Sanders, and bustling big man Jed Walter from Queensland.

Fans will already be familiar with the Duursma name, and Zane is the latest of the clan to come through the elite talent pathway. Other famous names include Nate Caddy, the nephew of Josh, and Archer Reid, the brother of Essendon’s Zach. A couple of father-son candidates have also been selected, namely Kynan Brown (Melbourne) and William McCabe (Hawthorn).

The match, which intends to give a glimpse into the next crop of AFL Draft prospects, will be streamed live on the AFL website, starting at 9:30am local time on September 24.

Queensland’s Jed Walter is a player to watch | Image Credit: Rookie Me Central


KynanBrown13/01/05VIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
LachlanCabor28/09/05NSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyShellharbour Swans
NateCaddy14/07/05VIC MNorthern KnightsYarrambat
CaidenCleary05/03/05NSW/ACTSydney SwansSydney University
DanielCurtin08/03/05WAClaremontWest Coast
JackDelean15/04/05SASouth AdelaideReynella
ZaneDuursma28/08/05VIC CGippsland PowerFoster
MitchellEdwards02/06/05WAPeel ThunderSouth Mandurah
WillGraham27/07/05QLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Curr.
ClayHall12/05/05WAPeel ThunderHarvey Brunswick
RileyHardeman27/02/05WASwan DistrictsCaversham
CoenLivingstone25/05/05WAPerthHigh Wycombe
EthanLogan18/04/05WAPeel ThunderCentrals
WillLorenz19/05/05VIC MOakleigh ChargersBoroondara Hawks
LuamonLual28/03/05VIC CGWV RebelsSouth Warrnambool
KaneMcAuliffe01/03/05SANorth AdelaideCentral Augusta
WillMcCabe29/09/05SACentral DistrictTanunda
BradleyMcDonald29/08/05QLDBrisbane Lions AcademyMaroochydore
ColbyMcKercher12/04/05TASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
LoganMorris10/95/05VIC MWestern JetsWerribee Districts
CamNyko25/11/05VIC MEastern RangesHealesville
ConnorO’Sullivan19/05/05NSW/ACTMurray BushrangersAlbury
WillPatton04/01/05SAWest AdelaideMitcham
NathanPhilactides10/01/05VIC MOakleigh ChargersBlackburn
JoePike17/05/05VIC CGeelong FalconsBarwon Heads
EthanRead07/07/05QLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Curr.
ArcherReid19/09/05VIC CGippsland PowerInverloch-Kongwak
HarleyReid17/04/05VIC CBendigo PioneersTongala
BillyRichardson10/12/05QLDBrisbane Lions AcademyWilston Grange
BenRidgway12/01/05SAGlenelgBrighton Dist. & OS
ArchieRoberts18/11/05VIC MSandringham DragonsHampton Rovers
JakeRogers02/03/05QLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBroadbeach
WillRowlands19/06/05NTNT Thunder / NorwoodSouthern Districts
MichaelRudd14/05/05VIC CGeelong FalconsSt Mary’s
KoenSanchez19/01/05WAEast FremantleApplecross Mt Pleas.
RyleySanders21/01/05TASTasmania DevilsNorth Launceston
ArieSchoenmaker07/01/05TASTasmania DevilsLaunceston
CooperSimpson13/02/05VIC CDandenong StingraysMt Martha
MahmoudTaha11/04/05VIC MCalder CannonsPascoe Vale
OrlandoTurner16/05/05NTNorwoodSouth Alice Springs
JedWalter08/06/05QLDGold Coast Suns AcademyPalm Beach Curr.
NickWatson24/02/05VIC MEastern RangesEast Ringwood
DarcyWilson18/08/05VIC CMurray BushrangersWangaratta Rovers

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments