South Australia announces AFLW U16s squad

SOUTH Australia finalised its 30-player squad for next month’s two AFL Women’s Under 16 Championship matches yesterday. The Croweaters had named an extended squad last year, but following an internal trial match, SANFL Female Talent Coordinator and coach Bek McMahon and her team narrowed down the squad to 30.

The Croweaters take on Vic Metro at Arden Street on April 23, before heading west to lock horns with Western Australia in Perth on April 30. The latter is part of a double-header with the Under 18s clash between the two states happening immediately after the Under 16s battle.

McMahon’s coaching panel includes current Norwood skipper Alison Ferrall, West Adelaide key forward Kelly Barltrop and Redlegs’ premiership wingman Anthony Wilson.

Among those named in the squad are Round 2 Breakthrough Player Monique Bessen (Sturt), and regular League players, Central District’s Sophie Eaton, Glenelg’s Matilda Wilmore, North Adelaide’s Jayde Visser, South Adelaide’s Lily Baxter and West Adelaide’s Steph Tredwell. Rooster Sarcha Taylor and Panther Bella Rigby have also earned a game at the top state level.

Of the SANFL Women’s clubs, South Adelaide has the equal most representatives with five. In addition to Baxter and Rigby, the Panthers also have trio, Taya Maxwell, Emma Charlton and Layla Vizguardis. Glenelg also has five representatives, with Jordan Horne, Bella Koch, Eloise Mackareth and Lakeisha Sheffield. Central District, Sturt and West Adelaide all have four representatives, with North Adelaide and Norwood (three) and Woodville-West Torrens (two) rounding out the eight sides.

2023 SA U16 Girls Squad

Sophie EatonCentral District
Holly TralagganCentral District
Miyu EndersbyCentral District
Mikaylah AntonyCentral District
Matilda WilmoreGlenelg
Eloise MackarethGlenelg
Jordan HorneGlenelg
Bella KochGlenelg
Lakeisha SheffieldGlenelg
Jayde VisserNorth Adelaide
Sarcha TaylorNorth Adelaide
Krystal ThompsonNorth Adelaide
Charli HazelhurstNorwood
Asha BianchiNorwood
Kyah JafferNorwood
Emma CharltonSouth Adelaide
Taya MaxwellSouth Adelaide
Layla VizguadisSouth Adelaide
Bella RigbySouth Adelaide
Lily BaxterSouth Adelaide
Monique BessenSturt
Sophie ThredgoldSturt
Edwina ThornquestSturt
Keira MaySturt
Stephanie TredwellWest Adelaide
Lucy WayeWest Adelaide
Molly PetersenWest Adelaide
Chloe TonkinWest Adelaide
Zahlia NiemannWoodville-West Torrens
Asha MeersWoodville-West Torrens

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments