2023 Under 17 Futures squads named

NEXT year’s bumper AFL Women’s Draft crop will be on show as part of the annual Under 17 Futures clash at Kinetic Stadium on Saturday. The best available 2006-born talents will strut their stuff in the south east, with a host of stars littered across both Team Harris and Team Schleicher.

Named after AFL Women’s players, Tayla Harris and Ruby Schleicher, the teams will look to put their hand up to be involved in the 2024 AFL Women’s Academy. The teams include 22 player sides with each of the eight states and territories represented. The match will be streamed via the AFLW website and app, from 10:30am.

Among those are 2023 AFL Women’s Under 18 Championships MVP Havana Harris who will play for her namesake’s side. She will be joined by fellow MVP and top Victorian prospect Ash Centra, as well as Carlton father-daughter prospect Sophie McKay and Claremont talent Claudia Wright who is playing just her second game back from a long-term injury. All-Australian Molly O’Hehir is also among the top talents to watch.

Team Schleicher features West Australian star Zippy Fish, AFLW umpire and talented Territorian Emma Stark, and AFLW Under 18 All-Australians, Emma McDonald, Sara Howley and Jemma Charity. Collingwood fans will keep a close eye on South Australian Violet Patterson who is the daughter of Stephen and tied to the club through the father-daughter rule.

AFL National Academy member Tarkyn Lockyer said it was an exciting time to see a showcase of next year’s AFL Women’s draft hopefuls.

“We are thrilled to have many of the most promising young female players in the country come together to take part in the AFLW Futures program.

“The inaugural AFLW Futures match last year was a great success and featured a host of players who are likely to be selected in the upcoming AFLW Draft.

“Saturday’s match at Kinetic Stadium will be a fantastic showcase of the next generation of exciting talent coming through the football ranks and it is great to have the match feature as part of the opening round of the 2023 NAB AFLW season.”

The AFLW Futures squad will come together on Friday, September 1 for a training session at the Swinburne Centre before attending the opening match of the 2023 NAB AFLW Season between Melbourne and Collingwood at IKON Park.

Northern Knights assistant Laura Frazer has been appointed head coach of Team Schleicher and will be assisted by former West Coast Eagles player Alicia Janz, Monique Clift and Craig Black.

Team Harris will be coached by Gippsland Power’s Nathan Boyd, with North Adelaide forward Kelly Barltrop, Ash Close and Whitney Kennedy to serve as assistants.

1ZimraHussainQLDBrisbane Lions AcademyWilston Grange
2TatyanaPerryNTNorthern Territory AcademyPalmerston
5JasmineEvansSACentral DistrictSalisbury
6Lou-LouFieldVIC MWestern JetsFlemington
7EmmaJunejaNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyEast Sydney
8SophieMcKayVIC MSandringham DragonsPrahran
9NoaMcNaughtonWASouth FremantleSouth Coogee
11MollyO’HehirWASouth FremantleSouth Coogee
12EllaParkerNSW/ACTSydney Swans AcademyUTS Bats
16GeorgieBrisbaneVIC MEastern RangesBlackburn
17AshleyCentraVIC CGippsland PowerSale City
18TamikaRourkeNSW/ACTGWS Giants Academy/
Murray Bushrangers
19ClaireMahonyVIC CGWV RebelsLake Wendouree
20NyalliMilneQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBurleigh
21SarahPoustieVIC MOakleigh ChargersOld Scotch
24LucyBoydSAWest AdelaideBlackwood
25KylaForbesVIC MCalder CannonsAberfeldie
26HavanaHarrisQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBurleigh
27MillieLangVIC CGWV RebelsRedan
28ElliSymondsVIC CDandenong StingraysFrankston Dolphins

1ZipporahFishWAEast Fremantle 
3EmmaStarkNTNorthern Territory AcademySt Mary’s
5NatashaEntwistleWAEast FremantleCanning Vale
6SierraGrievesVIC MWestern JetsYarraville Seddon
7ZoeHargreavesVIC MNorthern KnightsFitzroy
8MegHarrisonTASTasmania DevilsKingborough
9AshleyPattonNSW/ACTGWS Giants AcademyTuggeranong
10JemmaReynoldsVIC CDandenong StingraysLangwarrin
11TaraHarringtonQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyBond University
12AmberWunungmurraNTNorthern Territory AcademySouthern Districts
16GraceBabaVIC MEastern RangesMooroolbark
17LillyBakerQLDBrisbane Lions AcademyMaroochydore
18ZoeBesankoVIC CDandenong StingraysFrankston Dolphins
19SaraHowleyVIC CGeelong FalconsNewtown & Chilwell
20LucyThompsonTASTasmania DevilsUlverstone
21CharlotteRiggsSACentral DistrictAngle Vale
22HeidiTalbotQLDGold Coast Suns AcademyNorth Cairns
23MackenzieWilliamsTASTasmania DevilsNorth Hobart
24SiennaTallaritiVIC MOakleigh ChargersWhitehorse Pioneers
25EmmaMcDonaldVIC MOakleigh ChargersAshburton
SAWoodville-West TorrensHenley

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments