Flag unable to spare Lightning from turnover

THE reigning Netball Super League (NSL) champions the Loughborough Lightning have joined the NSL 2024 squad reveal party with their list now finalised ahead of the new year.

Much of the list is the same as it was in 2023, but there are some big names that will not be at the club next season.

Of the 2023 title winning squad list, Alice Harvey, Mary Cholhok, Ella Clark Rhea Dixon, Bella Bayliss, Beth Cobden, Hannah Joseph and skipper Natalie Panagarry are all returning.

This means that four new faces are coming into the Lightning set up next year. Three of them are defenders, with the only non defender being former Sirens shooter Niamh McCall.

Of the three new defenders, two of them have come across from other clubs. Annabel Roddy has moved across from the Cardiff Dragons, while Jade Popoola has come across town from fellow London side the Pulse.

The third new defender is Nicola Smith, with the South African returning to the Netball Super League in 2024.

The Lightning have also named their 2024 Training Partners, with Alex Johnson, Freya Henshall and Georgie Brock-Taylor all earning the coveted spots.

Of course, these new faces mean that some players have to have departed. Lauren Nicholls, Molly Hole, Clara Miles, Hannah Williams, Suzie Liverseidge, Fran Williams, Emma Thacker, Jasmin Odeogberin and Zanele Vimbela are all departing the reigning premiers ahead of 2024.

2024 Loughborough Lightning Squad

Alice Harvey, Annabel Roddy, Jade Popoola, Nicola Smith, Bella Bayliss, Beth Cobden, Hannah Joseph, Nat Panagarry, Mary Cholhok, Niamh McCall, Ella Clark, Rhea Dixon

Training Partners: Alex Johnson, Freya Henshall, Georgie Brock-Taylor

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments