ATP Tour Scores: February 22, 2022 – Dubai, Acapulco, Santiago

FINDING all the ATP Tour scores in one place can be difficult, so Rookie Me Central has you covered. Here are all the main draw results from the tennis tournaments from yesterday, February 22. For the ATP Tour, that is the ATP 500s in Dubai and Acapulco, as well as the ATP 250 in Santiago.


Dubai, United Arab Emirates | ATP 500 | Hard

In Dubai, it was a procession of the seeds, with five of the six seeds in action all advancing through to the second round. Andrey Rublev got past his tough first round encounter with Daniel Evans, whilst rising stars Jannik Sinner, Hubert Hurkacz and Denis Shapovalov all advanced to the next stage. Sinner in particular had a tough day out, saving three match points against Alejandro Davidovich Fokina in the second set, to win, 4-6 7-6 6-3. Experienced Spaniard Roberto Bautista Agut also won through, with Russian Karen Khachanov fighting past Australian Alex de Minaur on his way to a three set win. Lucky loser Aussie Alexei Popyrin stunned Georgian Nikoloz Basilashvili in the major upset of the day, as American Mackenzie McDonald was the other winner.


[2] Andrey Rublev (RUS) defeated Daniel Evans (GBR) 6-4 7-5
[4] Jannik Sinner (ITA) defeated Alejandro Davidovich Fokina (ESP) 4-6 7-6 6-3
[5] Hubert Hurkacz (POL) defeated Alexander Bublik (KAZ) 6-3 6-1
[6] Denis Shapovalov (CAN) defeated Marton Fucsovics (HUN) 4-6 6-4 7-5
Mackenzie McDonald (USA) defeated [7] Aslan Karatsev (RUS) 7-5 6-3
[8] Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP) defeated Arthur Rinderknech (FRA) 6-3 6-4
Karen Khachanov (RUS) defeated Alex de Minaur (AUS) 6-3 6-7 7-5
[LL] Alexei Popyrin (AUS) defeated Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO) 6-2 6-3


Acapulco, Mexico | ATP 500 | Hard

Mexico’s night session looked set to go quite late again, with Lorenzo Sonego and J.J. Wolf locked in a battle at one set apiece in the final match of the day at the time of publishing. Greek second seed Stefanos Tsitsipas survived a scare against Serbian Laslo Djere to win his night session clash in two tiebreakers, joining the other top four seeds – Daniil Medvedev and Rafael Nadal – in the second round. Sixth seed Cameron Norrie also advantaged, whilst Italian Matteo Berrettini had to retire midway through the second set of his clash with American Tommy Paul. His compatriot Marcos Giron was also the beneficiary of a retirement, with Australian John Millman having to pull out early in the second set. Also through to the next round were Yoshihito Nishioka and Pablo Andujar.


[1] Daniil Medvedev (RUS) defeated Benoit Paire (FRA) 6-3 6-4
[3] Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE) defeated Laslo Djere (SRB) 7-6 7-6
[4] Rafael Nadal (ESP) defeated [LL] Denis Kudla (USA) 6-3 6-2
Tommy Paul (USA) defeated [5] Matteo Berrettini (ITA) 4-6 5-1 RET
[6] Cameron Norrie (GBR) defeated [Q] Daniel Altmaier (GER) 7-5 6-2
[Q] Yoshihito Nishioka (JPN) defeated [WC] Feliciano Lopez (ESP) 2-6 6-0 6-4
[PR] Pablo Andujar (ESP) defeated [WC] Alex Hernandez (MEX) 6-0 6-1
Marcos Giron (USA) defeated [SE] John Millman (AUS) 7-6 2-0 RET
J.J. Wolf (USA) vs. Lorenzo Sonego (ITA)


Santiago, Chile | ATP 250 | Clay

In the sole ATP 250 event, German Yannick Hanfmann provided the upset of the day, coming from a set down to defeat fifth seed Federico Coria. The other two seeds in Miomir Kecmanovic and Sebastian Baez both saluted in their respective matches, as the remaining six clashes were all straight sets. Chilean Alejandro Tabilo moved through to the Round of 16, whilst Bolivian Hugo Dellien defeated the other Chilean in action, qualifier Gonzalo Lama, whilst Spanish duo Jaume Munar and Carlos Taberner both advanced.


[PR] Yannick Hanfmann (GER) defeated [5] Federico Coria (ARG) 3-6 6-2 6-4
[6] Miomir Kecmanovic (SRB) defeated Marco Cecchinato (ITA) 7-5 6-1
[7] Sebastian Baez (ARG) defeated Juan Pablo Varillas (PER) 6-4 6-4
Hugo Dellien (BOL) defeated [Q] Gonzalo Lama (CHI) 6-3 6-4
[WC] Alejandro Tabilo (CHI) defeated [Q] Renzo Olivo (ARG) 6-1 6-3
Jaume Munar (ESP) defeated Daniel Elahi Galan (COL) 6-1 6-3
Carlos Taberner (ESP) defeated Juan Manuel Cerundolo (ARG) 6-2 7-5

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments