Queensland and Western Australia top AFL Women’s Academy

QUEENSLAND and Western Australia loom as the big challenges to Victoria in next year’s AFL Women’s Under 18 Championships after both states had a whopping 10 players named in the 2019 AFL Women’s Academy. Following on from the 22 combined played named from Victoria, Queensland – who defeated Vic Metro for the first time in the state’s history this year – and Western Australia – who matched it with the Victorian sides for the most part – have both shown to have plenty of talent pushing through their development programs.

The Victorian contingent of the AFL Women’s Academy can be found HERE.

Of the 26 players named from non-Victorian states, 19 are eligible to be drafted next year – including two that missed out this year – while seven will become eligible for the 2020 AFL Women’s Draft. Among the top players named in the AFL Women’s Academy are South Australian ruck, Montana McKinnon who was named as her state’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) at the championships and All-Australian in the forward pocket, while Queensland’s Lily Postlethwaite was named her state’s best in each of the three games. Fellow Queenslanders, Serene Watson and Belle Dawes were also named in the All-Australian side along with Postlethwaite.

Western Australia’s 10 nominees included talented midfielders, Mikayla Bowen and Abbey Dowrick, twin sisters, Mikayla and Brianna Hyde, talented sportswoman, Courtney Hodder, and the exciting Roxanne Roux. Outside the two non-dominant states, New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory (NSW/ACT) had three nominees, with Lillian Doyle, Georgia Garnett, and bottom-ager Tarni Evans named, while Tasmanian, Mia King was the sole representative from the Apple Isle.

The players, along with the 22 chosen from Victoria, will take part in a series of three camps, beginning on December 16 at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) in Canberra.

NSW/ACT [3]: Lillian Doyle (Grafton), Georgia Garnett (Kellyville/Rouse Hill Magpies), Tarni Evans (Queanbeyan Tigers)*
Queensland [10]: Annise Bradfield (Southport)*, Belle Dawes (Wilston Grange), Zimmie Farquharson (Calamvale Leopards)*, Kitara Farrar (South Cairns Cutters), Charlotte Hammans (Bond University), Ellie Hampson (Hermit Park Tigers), Dee Heslop (Yeronga), Lily Postlethwaite (Moreton Bay Lions), Serene Watson (Bond University), Tarni White (Coorparoo).
South Australia [2]: Montana McKinnon (South Adelaide), Jaimi Tabb (Woodville-West Torrens)
Tasmania [1]: Mia King (Launceston)
Western Australia [10]: Mikayla Bowen (Swan Districts), Rosie Deegan (Subiaco, WA), Abbey Dowrick (Subiaco)*, Courtney Hodder (Peel Thunderbirds)+, Brianna Hyde (Swan Districts)*, Mikayla Hyde (Swan Districts)*, Emma O’Driscoll (Swan Districts)+, Tayla Pescud (Swan Districts, WA), Roxanne Roux (East Fremantle), Sarah Verrier (Peel Thunderbirds)*.

* Bottom-age, not eligible until 2020 AFL Women’s Draft
+ Over-age, were eligible for the 2018 AFL Women’s Draft but were undrafted

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments