2021 Draft Central NAB League Boys TOTW: Round 10

THE Draft Central NAB League Round 10 Team of the Week has dropped, with 24 of the weekend’s best performed-players featuring in a competitive lineup. Player of the Week nominees Baynen Lowe (Tasmania Devils) and Joshua Clarke (Eastern Ranges) co-captain the side from midfield after stellar displays in their respective regions’ victories.

Lowe’s Devils teammates feature heavily along the spine, which is bookended by over-ager Tyler McGinnis at full back and bottom-ager Tom McCallum at centre half-forward. Both players put in phenomenal aerial performances against Dandenong Stingrays on Sunday, while Lowe was in the thick of the midfield action.

Clarke is joined by teammate Mitchell Sruk (half-back), who helped the Ranges rebound out of defence in tough conditions out in Williamstown. Eastern is the only Round 10 victor with two nominees, while Tasmania, Northern, and Sandringham all contributed three members, and Bendigo Pioneers boast four.

At the other end of the scale, the Dandenong Stingrays and Oakleigh Chargers have just one representative apiece after their respective losses, but could have had a couple more.

The likes of Flynn Lakey, Josh Hamilton, Lachlan Benton, and Jack Hickman arguably produced best afield performances, though the battle for spots in the midfield meant the latter two talents were pushed out to the half-forward flanks. Charlie Byrne was in a similar boat, pushed out to a familiar wing post despite mostly playing on the inside.

A trio of father-son hopefuls also feature in the 24-man squad. Calder’s Dane Whitnall (son of Lance) lines up next to Jackson Archer (Glenn) on the half-back line, while another Carlton-tied player in Charlie McKay (Andrew) snuck in on the bench for his 30-disposal effort.

Check out the full team below:

Draft Central NAB League Team of the Week: Round 10

B: Ethan Warburton (MB), Tyler McGinnis (TD), Daniel Didomenicantonio (DS)
Mitchell Sruk (ER), Dane Whitnall (CC), Jackson Archer (NK)
C: Jack Evans (BP), Baynen Lowe (TD, c) Charlie Byrne (MB)
Jack Hickman (BP), Tom McCallum (TD), Lachlan Benton (SD)
Jack Rossimel (NK), Felix Flockart, Jack Stewart (BP)
FOL: Paul Tsapatolis (WJ), Joshua Clarke (ER, vc), Flynn Lakey (CC)

INT: Sam Clohesy (CC), Sam Collins (OC), Josh Hamilton (NK), Billy Cootee (WJ), Anthony Depasquale (BP), Charlie McKay (SD)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments