TEAMS | 2021 AFLU19s – Western Australia vs. South Australia

THE 2021 AFL Under 19 National Championships have finally arrived, with Western Australia set to take on South Australia at Lathlain Park on Saturday afternoon. The highly anticipated clash was initially delayed in its original Sunday slot, but is back on after eased border restrictions. The Croweaters will thus travel West, led by pick one contender Jason Horne-Francis, who lines up in midfield alongside deputy Mani Liddy and South Adelaide teammate Matthew Roberts. Western Australia will be skippered by East Fremantle top-ager Finn Gorringe, who takes his place in defence while vice-captain Josh Browne prepares for an epic engine room battle. Fellow deputy Neil Erasmus will miss due to a bad corky, replaced by running machine Max Chipper. There are few real surprises across either line-up, though the hosts’ tall forward riches sees Jacob van Rooyen starting in defence. The Black Ducks are stacked in midfield too, with first round prospect Matthew Johnson squeezed out to a forward flank. The South Australians boast a good mix of speed and class, with the likes of Port Adelaide father-son prospect Jase Burgoyne, Glenelg wingman Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, and top 10 candidate Arlo Draper among those to watch in the tricolours. Central District League representative Shay Linke was unlucky to miss the SA interchange, while electric Claremont small Jahmal Stretch would have narrowly missed the cut for WA. Both have been named as emergencies. The action begins at 1:00pm local time, with both sides inevitably itching to get a proper taste of representative action. All 2021 National Championship fixtures are set to be broadcasted. Stay tuned to Draft Central over the next few days, as we’ll have a wrap of the game and Scouting Notes on every player to come on Monday. >> PREVIEW: Where it’s won – WA vs. SA U19s
2021 AFL U19 National Championships Western Australia vs. South Australia Saturday August 28, 1:00pm AWST Lathlain Park FINAL SQUADS Western Australia: B: F. Gorringe, J. Avery, B. Watson HB: R. Bazzo, J. van Rooyen, J. Hagan C: C. Warner, G. Sheldrick, T. Woewodin HF: M. Johnson, J. Williams, L. Paton F: E. Benning, J. Amiss, J. Motlop R: J. South, J. Tunstill, K. Dittmar Int: J. Browne, B. Hough, J. McVee, E. Regan, M. Chipper Emg: J. Busslinger, M. Chipper, K. Harbour, J. Stretch South Australia: B: M. Litster, Z. Becker, B. O’Loughlin HB: C. Beecken, O. Adams, J. Burgoyne C: I. Birt, M. Roberts, N. Wanganeen-Milera HF: A. Draper, M. Ferres, L. Grubb F: H. Stagg, J. Lukac, I. Dudley R: O. Steene, J. Horne-Francis, M. Liddy Int: L. Cooke, H. Jackson, C. Kennedy, J. Owens, L. Rayson Emg: H. Harrison, S. Linke, L. Whitelum
Featured Image: (Left to right) West Australian leaders Josh Browne, Finn Gorringe, and Neil Erasmus | Credit: WAFL via Twitter
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments