PREVIEW | West meets South once more for curtain-raiser showcase

DRAFT watchers and recruiters alike will be treated to another Under 19 National Championships spectacle this weekend, with South Australia and Western Australia going head-to-head in Saturday’s AFL grand final curtain raiser. Having already met once this year, the two sides will look much different this time around with a bunch of changes set to take place.

>> SCROLL for final squads

The final squads are in with benches trimmed to five players apiece, and there are plenty of fresh faces to note down. With League and Colts finals taking precedence, Western Australia has made 13 changes to its August squad, while the visitors will rotate seven players into their side as skipper Jason Horne-Francis and the injured Jase Burgoyne come the other way. It means Lewis Rayson will captain the Croweaters alongside Mani Liddy. The much anticipated midfield battle of game one will look much different too, with two of SA’s centre bounce starters in Horne-Francis and Matthew Roberts instead turning out for South Adelaide in tonight’s SANFL preliminary final. Liddy will take on much of the contested ball winning load, accompanied by game one emergencies Harvey Harrison and Shay Linke. The latter, who gained senior experience this season, should add some size while Harrison is a handy forward driver.

The depth remains for SA too, with Hugh Jackson to call upon off the bench along with bottom-age standout Adam D’Aloia, who is fresh off a best afield performance in Woodville-West Torrens’ SANFL Under 18s premiership. Off other lines, the likes of Arlo Draper, Cade Kennedy, and injury returnee Will Spain should also bolster the Croweaters’ midfield stocks in rotation.

Western Australia’s engine room took a hit with Angus Sheldrick a late out, compounding the loss of vice-captain Neil Erasmus and East Fremantle trio Josh Browne, Corey Warner, and Taj Woewodin. A strong core remains from last time out with Matthew Johnson set to take the centre bounces alongside East Perth duo Kade Dittmar and James Tunstill, but WA’s ball winning depth should be much further stretched this time around. Luckily for the hosts, their embarrassment of riches in the tall department should continue to hold them in good stead. While bookends Rhett Bazzo and Jack Williams are unavailable, Luke Polson comes in to support state spearhead Jye Amiss as Jacob Van Rooyen swings down back once again. There should be plenty of marking power in a heavily rotated backline too, which includes incoming bottom-agers Jedd Busslinger, Luke Michael, and Sam Gilbey.

Another state Under 17s representative, Jackson Broadbent has taken up the starting ruck role after cracking a League berth with Peel Thunder this season. He looks likely to be supported by Fremantle Next Generation Academy (NGA) prospect Eric Benning with Subiaco’s Jake South another out. Even younger than Broadbent, 2005-born Dockers NGA talent Chase Bourne has also earned selection and should add some spark going forward. SA has called upon some bottom-age talent of its own, as Norwood’s Max Michalanney comes in to sure up the defence. With WA’s key position rotation so stacked, the Redlegs tall will have plenty to do alongside fellow inclusion Jarrad Parish. At the other end of the ground, exciting West Adelaide forward Harry Lemmey should plug a Morgan Ferres-sized gap nicely, offering something slightly different at 199cm. He is another who has played League football this year.

The game is set to be streamed via the AFL website, starting at 1:00pm local time as a special curtain-raiser event for this year’s AFL Grand Final. Stay tuned to Draft Central for Scouting Notes on every player afield.



Western Australia:

B: 15. F. Gorringe (c) – 24. J. Busslinger – 17. L. Michael
HB: 22. J. Avery – 29. J. van Rooyen – 14. S. Gilbey
C: 38. B. Hough – 19. K. Dittmar – 10. A. Jones
HF: 5. K. Harbour – 30. J. Amiss – 12. L. Paton
F: 31. E. Benning – 32. L. Polson – 8. J. Stretch
FOL: 45. J. Broadbent – 23. M. Johnson – 20. J. Tunstill
INT:  C. Bourne, 3. R. Farmer, 6. Z. Fleiner, 26. K. Bevan, 27. O. Armstrong
EMG: D. Curtin, J. Draper, G. Julian

IN: Jedd Busslinger, Jahmal Stretch, Kaden Harbour, Luke Michael, Sam Gilbey, Arthur Jones, Richard Farmer, Luke Polson, Jackson Broadbent, Oscar Armstrong, Kane Bevan, Zac Fleiner, Chase Bourne, Daniel Curtin, Julian Draper, Griff Julian*
OUT: Jesse Motlop (League), Jed Hagan (Colts), Judd McVee (Colts), Max Chipper (Colts), Bryce Watson (Colts), Taj Woewodin (Colts), Josh Browne (Colts), Corey Warner (Colts), Rhett Bazzo (Colts), Jack Williams (Colts), Ethan Regan, Jake South, Neil Erasmus


South Australia:

B: 32. Z. Becker – J. Parish – 25. M. Litster
HB: 18. A. Draper – 33. O. Adams – 2. B. O’Loughlin
C: 8. L. Rayson (c) – 11. H. Harrison – 13. N. Wanganeen-Milera
HF: 12. C. Kennedy – 31. L. Cooke – 3. W. Spain
F: 36. H. Lemmey – 34. J. Lukac – 1. I. Dudley
FOL: 35. O. Steene – 22. M. Liddy – 26. S. Linke
INT: 6. L. Grubb, 9. H. Jackson, 14. J. Owens, 21. A. D’Aloia, 27. M. Michalanney
EMG: 7. B. Calvett, 17. H. Stagg, 23. C. Beecken, 24. L. Whitelum

IN: Harvey Harrison, Shay Linke, Jarrad Parish, Will Spain, Harry Lemmey, Adam D’Aloia, Max Michalanney, Brayden Calvett*
OUT: Jase Burgoyne, Isaac Birt, Matthew Roberts (League), Jason Horne-Francis (League), Morgan Ferres, Hugh Stagg, Cooper Beecken * – denotes emergency

Featured Image: West Australian skipper Finn Gorringe (no. 15) addresses his side | Credit: WAFL

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments