2022 NAB League Boys Player of the Week: Round 14

IT took 14 weeks, but the ladder-leading Gippsland Power finally have a Rookie Me Central NAB League Boys Player of the Week. Returning to the side after a long lay-off with injury, Power skipper Bailey Humphrey returned to the fold against the Northern Knights to slam home four goals from nine scoring shots and have 31 disposals. It was a clear best on ground performance for the Power captain, who was unstoppable inside 50, spending more time at full-forward and slowly rotating his way back through the midfield.

In his first game back from injury, Humphrey did not hold back, and had he had his kicking boots on, he easily could have slotted double-figure goals on the day. Often leading out with a nice burst and taking the ball at the highest points – or just reading it better than the opposition defenders – Humphrey feasted on Gippsland Power’s dominance forward of centre that saw the top of the table team produce a whopping 62 inside 50s to the last placed Knights’ 31. At the end of the day, Gippsland triumphed 20.20 (140) to Northern’s 6.4 (40).

Humphrey’s statline read 31 disposals – 18 kicks, 13 handballs – 12 marks, five tackles, three inside 50s and 4.5 – with a couple of shots sprayed wide and out of bounds – in a performance that had fans and recruiters talking. A likely first round prospect whose performance put him in contention for as high as a Top 10 pick, Humphrey became the second successive Country player to earn the Player of the Week nod. Of the Vic Country players, just one other – Taj Campbell-Farrell – is top-age.

Barring a disastrous last two rounds, the Power only need to win one match to lock up top spot, taking on Greater Western Victoria (GWV) Rebels and third placed Dandenong Stingrays in the regular NAB League Boys season. The Power will then earn a bye for wildcard round before taking on the eighth highest ranked teams in a knockout elimination final.


Round 1: Jai Culley (Dandenong Stingrays)
Round 2: Will Ashcroft (Sandringham Dragons)
Round 3: Elijah Tsatas (Oakleigh Chargers)
Round 4: Harry Sheezel (Sandringham Dragons)
Round 5: Seth Campbell (Tasmania Devils)
Round 7: Lewis Hayes (Eastern Ranges)
Round 8: Taj Campbell-Farrell (Dandenong Stingrays)
Round 9: Yuyu Ashwin (Oakleigh Chargers)
Round 10: Cameron Mackenzie (Sandringham Dragons)
Round 11: Hamish Sinnott (GWV Rebels)
Round 12: Ben Ham (Northern Knights)
Round 13: Harvey Gallagher (Bendigo Pioneers)
Round 14: Bailey Humphrey (Gippsland Power)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments