It’s double delight for Nanscawen

IT is déjà vu in the 2022 Lambert-Pearce Medal, with 2021 winner Georgia Nanscawen rewarded for a stellar 2022 season by winning her second Lambert-Pearce Medal in a row.

She was the runaway winner, leading all night to comfortably win over the likes of Hawk Tamara Luke and Southern Saint Hannah Stuart.

The award win caps of a stellar season for Nanscawen, having a stellar season and captaining her Bombers to a maiden VFLW premiership.

The 2022 season saw a long list of achievements for Nanscawen, which culminated in a spot on Essendon’s inaugural AFLW list, but her VFLW season did unfortunately culminate in a torn anterior cruciate ligament (ACL) on Grand Final day.

It was a busy night for Nanscawen, with the Lambert – Pearce Medal not her only win for the evening.

The first two award winners of the night were the Rohenna Young Medal for the league’s leading goal kicker, and the Debbie Lee Medal for the league’s Rising Star award. The winners of those two were Bomber Federica Frew and Dee now AFLW Hawk Tahlia Fellows respectively.

The inaugural VFLW Coaches’ MVP was awarded tonight as well, and after leading with three rounds to go Nanscawen went on to win that award too. She won the award against the likes Hannah Stuart, Paige Sheppard, Matilda Zander and Laura Gardiner.

Among the awards given out tonight was the naming of the league’s Team of the Year. The team is as below, with Bomber Mia-Rae Clifford named skipper.

B: Eliza Vale and Katelyn Lee
HB: Grace Buchan, Jenna Richardson and Nicole Callinan
C: Samantha Johnson, Hannah Stuart and Winnie Laing
HF: Mia-Rae Clifford, Renee Tierney and Tahlia Fellows   
F: Federica Frew and Tamara Luke
R: Elizabeth McGrathGeorgia Nanscawen and Laura Gardiner
IC: Olivia Barton, Tayla Kearns, Amelia Radford, Paige Sheppard and Matilda Zander

It was also the VFL Men’s Awards night, with Werribee’s Tom Gribble taking out the J.J. Liston Trophy, Port Melbourne’s Ethan Phillips winning the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal (Rising Star), Southport’s Jacob Dawson won the Coaches MVP, and Sun Chris Burgess booted 52 goals in the season to claim the Leading Goalkicker award.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments