Lions continue to roar as Anderson wins big gong

BRISBANE’s Ally Anderson is the toast of the AFLW tonight, after winning the Season 7 AFLW Best and Fairest Award.

She is the second consecutive Lion to win the award, after teammate Emily Bates won the award in Season 6.

She won the award by a single vote from Tiger Monique Conti, with Ebony Marinoff finishing third.

It was an incredibly tight count for much of the night, with four players tied at the top on 11 votes with four rounds to go – Conti, Marinoff, Madison Prespakis and Alyce Parker.

The tight race at the top continued until the very final round of votes, but Anderson had a strong finish to the season and with a three vote performance against Collingwood in the final round sealed her win.

The Rising Star Award went to Port Adelaide’s Hannah Ewings, who averaged 13.9 disposals and had 34.9 clearances across her 10 games this season. She won with 41 votes ahead of team mate Abbey Dowrick and Hawk Jasmine Fleming.

The All Australian Team was also revealed tonight. The team is as follows:

Full Backs: Chelsea Biddell, Bre Koenen (VC)

Half Backs: Eilish Sheerin, Katie Lynch, Emma Kearney

Midfielders: Anne Hatchard, Monique Conti, Georgie Prespakis

Half Forwards: Kate Hore, Jesse Wardlaw, Maddy Prespakis

Full Forwards: Courtney Wakefield, Chloe Scheer

Followers: Bre Moody, Jas Garner (C), Ebony Marinoff

Interchange: Olivia Purcell, Nat Grider, Amy McDonald, Chelsea Randall, Greta Bodey

The Mark of the Year went to Geelong’s Chloe Scheer for her effort against the Roos, while the Goal of the Year went to Sun Ashanti Bush for her snag against GWS.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments