2023 RMC Coates Talent League TOTY squad announced

ROOKIE Me Central has announced its extended Coates Talent League Team of the Year for 2023, featuring 48 of the competition’s best and brightest prospects. Throughout the season, 160 players earned nominations via 24-man teams of the week, making them eligible for the final squad.

Leading the way in terms of total nominations was Gippsland Power forward Zane Duursma, who made the Team of the Week nine times from 11 starts. It marks a sensational season for the top five prospect, who also took out this year’s RMC Medal and topped the competition’s goal kicking charts with 32.

A trio of talents earned eight nominations apiece. Duursma’s Vic Country teammates Darcy Wilson (Murray) and George Stevens (Greater Western Victoria) were outstanding in sides at opposite ends of the ladder, along with Oakleigh bottom-ager Jagga Smith, who only played nine games.

Pick one fancy Harley Reid made the cut as Bendigo’s lone representative with four nominations along with other highly touted talents like Colby McKercher, Ryley Sanders Nate Caddy, and Connor O’Sullivan, who will all likely be top 10 selections.

Tasmania is the most represented region with seven players in the squad, no surprise given the Devils secured this year’s minor premiership. Meanwhile, the Sandringham Dragons, Oakleigh Chargers, and Dandenong Stingrays boast five players apiece.

Stay tuned to Rookie Me Central as we cut the squad down to a final 24 next week, and hand over this year’s RMC Medal to Duursma.

Darcy Wilson (left) battles Zane Duursma for the ball | Image Credit: Rookie Me Central


Bendigo Pioneers (1): Harley Reid
Calder Cannons (4): Jordan Croft, Isaac Kako, Nash King, Mahmoud Taha
Dandenong Stingrays (5): Kade De La Rue, Harry De Mattia, Harvey Langford, Kobe Shipp, Billy Wilson
Eastern Ranges (4): Christian Moraes, Josh Smillie, Cooper Trembath, Caleb Windsor
Geelong Falcons (2): Angus Hastie, Michael Rudd
Gippsland Power (3): Zane Duursma, Xavier Lindsay, Archer Reid
GWV Rebels (4): Lachlan Charleson, Joel Freijah, Luamon Lual, George Stevens
Murray Bushranger (3): Oscar Ryan, Connor O’Sullivan, Darcy Wilson
Northern Knights (4): Nate Caddy, Kristian Ferronato, Will Green, Zak Johnson
Oakleigh Chargers (5): Kynan Brown, Tom Gross, Finn O’Sullivan, Nathan Philactides, Jagga Smith
Sandringham Dragons (5): Levi Ashcroft, Will Brown, Harvey Johnston, Luke Lloyd, Ryley Sanders 
Tasmania Devils (7): Tom Beaumont, Jack Callinan, James Leake, Heath Ollington, Colby McKercher, Geordie Payne, Arie Schoenmaker
Western Jets (1): Logan Morris

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments