History made in VFLW as trio named competition best

HISTORY has been made in the VFL Women’s, with a trio of stars all winning the Lambert-Pearce Medal as the best and fairest in the competition.

Cat Charlotte Simpson and Hawks pair Akayla Peterson and Jordan Mifsud all shared the honours of winning the illustrious medal, tying on 14 votes after a full season of counting. Collingwood’s Jessica Bates finished one vote behind the trio to finish as runner up.

Simpson led the count for most of the night, topping the tally after both Rounds 6 and 10.

However, both Peterson and Mifsud made a charge late in the season to ultimately tie with Simpson.

It was a busy night for Simpson, who also picked up the Debbie Lee Medal as the league’s Rising Star. She won the award from fellow finalists Madeleine Di Cosmo, Nyakoat Dojiok, Emily Eaves and Kaitlyn O’Keefe.

The VFLW Coaches’ MVP went to Bates, who won the award from Eaves and Di Cosmo.

The VFLW Team of the Year was also announced, with Sean Buncle as Coach and Bates as captain. Port Melbourne, Williamstown and Box Hill had the most team members make the Team of the Year with three each, while the Southern Saints, North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs, Collingwood and Carlton all had two representatives each. The only VFLW club to not get a  representative in the final team was Darebin.

The full team of the Year is below:

Photo Credit: via @VFL

There were a number of other VFLW related awards given out last night. The Rohenna Young Medallist for the competition’s leading goal kicker went to Seagull Sarah Cameron, while the Ann Rulton Award for Volunteer of the Year went to Collingwood’s Meagan Lee.

The VFLM awards were also held last night. The J.J Liston Trophy went to AFL-listed Brisbane Lions midfielder Jarryd Lyons, the Frosty Miller Medal went to Suns pair Chris Burgess and Brodie McLaughlin, and the Fothergill-Round-Mitchell Medal went to Werribee’s Sam Clohesy.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments