SANFLW full 2024 season fixture announced

ALL eight SANFL Women’s sides will face the other seven teams twice in a brand new 14-round season fixture that was released earlier today. In a league first, the clubs will get to play each of the sides at home and away throughout the course of the year, which runs from March 1 until July 6, the longest season to-date.

The season, which kicks off under lights at both Thebarton Oval and Coopers Stadium on march 1, will also feature a historic State Game between the SANFLW and WAFLW, to be play in Perth on May 4. All sides have a bye that round, with another league-wide weekend off across April 4-7 due to the AFL’s Gather Round.

Reigning premiers Central District open the season against Norwood on Friday, March 1, with the match coinciding with grand finalists South Adelaide taking on West Adelaide at the neutral ground of Thebarton Oval.

That ground will also be used for a North Adelaide against Sturt clash the following day which sees new Roosters coach Jason Fairall face the team he coached to a premiership for he first time. The occupants of the ground Sturt will however open its season at the new Eastern Parade Reserve where they meet hosts, Woodville-West Torrens.

Central District will unfurl the flag the following week at X Convenience Oval against the Eagles in a Super Saturday of action across the state. Fans will be able to enjoy a double header of West Adelaide against North Adelaide, and Glenelg against Sturt at Hisense Stadium however.

Spectators will have to wait until Round 7 for a grand final rematch, where the Panthers host the Bulldogs at Flinders University Stadium, with the second rematch taking place in the final round, with Central District hosting South Adelaide at Elizabeth.

The SANFL Women’s Finals structure remains the same, with a three-week post-season series starting on June 22, culminating in a grand final on Saturday, July 6.

The 2024 SANFL Women’s Development League fixture was also released, with a seven-round fixture taking place across the first seven rounds of the League season, allowing players to have a high-level competition when not selected for the senior side. The top two sides will face off in the grand final, with South Adelaide the reigning champions of that competition.

The full SANFL Women’s fixture can be found here via the SANFL website.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments