Big guns earn top marks in opening round

A RAFT of big names featured in our Round 1 Rookie Me Central Medal votes, along with plenty of fresh faces. Coates Talent League players will be vying for the award previously taken out by Zane Duursma and Aaron Cadman over its first two instalments.

>> SCROLL to see the Round 1 votes

After being run with a 5-4-3-2-1 voting system previously, the 2024 count will revert to a simple 3-2-1 structure. Among those to earn the three votes in Round 1 was Player of the Week Josh Smillie, who starred in Eastern’s 28-point win over Oakleigh on Sunday.

Smillie, who booted two goals from 24 disposals, beat out the likes of Christian Moraes and Jagga Smith to a full allotment of votes. Moraes also hit the scoreboard twice from a team-high 25 touches, while Smith led all comers with 30 in a losing side.

Likely Vic Metro teammates Zak Johnson and Murphy Reid were also granted best afield honours for Northern and Sandringham respectively. Both racked up 28 disposals in comfortable wins and showcased optimal class which they have become known for.

Elsewhere, Murray Bushrangers ruck-forward Jack Whitlock was recognised for his four-goal game. Bendigo’s Tobie Travaglia matched Smith’s haul of 30 disposals to be best on ground against GWV, while Dandenong co-captain Harvey Langford was outstanding in his side’s heartbreaking defeat.

Check out the votes below, which will be tallied and updated each week with a new leaderboard.

>> CTL Round 1: Snapshot | POTW | TOTW | Scouting Notes


Northern Knights 19.9 (123) def. Western Jets 12.8 (80)
3 – Zak Johnson (Northern Knights)
2 – Lucas McInerney (Northern Knights)
1 – Thomas Sims (Northern Knights)

Murray Bushrangers 15.10 (100) def. Tasmania Devils 11.7 (73)
3 – Jack Whitlock (Murray Bushrangers)
2 – Joe Berry (Murray Bushrangers)
1 – Max Mapley (Tasmania Devils)

Sandringham Dragons 16.14 (110) def. Calder Cannons 9.6 (60)
3 – Murphy Reid (Sandringham Dragons)
2 – Damon Hollow (Calder Cannons)
1 – Luke Trainor (Sandringham Dragons)

Oakleigh Chargers 7.12 (54) def. by Eastern Ranges 13.4 (82)
3 – Josh Smillie (Eastern Ranges)
2 – Jagga Smith (Oakleigh Chargers)
1 – Christian Moraes (Eastern Ranges)

GWV Rebels 7.13 (55) def. by Bendigo Pioneers 10.13 (73)
3 – Tobie Travaglia (Bendigo Pioneers)
2 – James Barrat (Bendigo Pioneers)
1 – Wil Rantall (GWV Rebels)

Geelong Falcons 9.6 (60) def. Dandenong Stingrays 8.9 (57)
3 – Harvey Langford (Dandenong Stingrays)
2 – Ben Hopkins (Dandenong Stingrays)
1 – Cooper Hynes (Dandenong Stingrays)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments