2024 Western Australia Under 18 squad announced

THE WEST Australian Football Commission has announced its initial Under 18 squad for 2024, featuring 30 of the state’s brightest prospects. With only three WAFL Colts rounds in the books, five more spots are up for grabs, set to be decided by continued form and a pair of trial games.

>> SCROLL for the full squad & fixture

Claremont dominates the squad with a high of 12 representatives – eight more than Subiaco and Peel as the next most represented clubs. Swan Districts had three players selected, while Perth, West Perth and South Fremantle contributed two, leaving East Fremantle with one and East Perth on zero.

The Black Ducks will kick off their four-game National Championships campaign on June 2 against reigning champions, the Allies. They’ll be on the road again for game two against South Australia (June 16), before hosting Vic Metro (June 23) and Vic Country (June 29) to round out the carnival.

Marc Webb takes the reigns as coach, with the squad overlooked by state talent manager Adam Jones. Among the top prospects in Western Australia this year are Subiaco forward Malakai Champion and Peel Thunder defender Bo Allan – both National Academy inductees.

Champion is one of a couple of players tied to West Coast in the squad, via its Next Generation Academy, while Charlie Banfield is a father-son candidate for next year. Banfield, the son of Drew, is one of eight bottom-agers to have earned selection.

Cody Curtin, the brother of 2023 draftee Dan, is another 2007-born talent in the mix. Fellow Claremont talls Aiden Riddle and Max Rohr are the only over-ager players (2005-born) to have made the cut. The remaining 20 players fall into the top-age category (2006-born).


Claremont (12):
Cody Angove
Charlie Banfield*
Hugh Boxshall
Cody Curtin*
Hamish Davis
Clancy Dennis
Jaxon Douglas
Will Hayes
Aiden Riddle**
Max Rohr**
Austin van der Struyf
Oscar Willis*

East Fremantle (1):
Luke Urquhart

Peel Thunder (4):
Bo Allan
Mathew Becker*
Darcy Petersen
Deian Roberts

Perth (2):
Koby Evans*
Loch Mactaggart

South Fremantle (3):
Jaxon Artemis
Tom Bell
Fred Rodriguez*

Subiaco (4):
Charlie Burke
Malakai Champion
Wes Walley*
Hayden Windsor

Swan Districts (3):
Anthony Hansen
Blake Kelly*
Colby McDonald

West Perth (2):
Kayle Gerreyn
Trent Hiscock


vs. Allies | Sunday June 2, 10:35am @ Blacktown (NSW)
vs. South Australia | Sunday June 16, 10:05am @ TBC (SA)
vs. Vic Metro | Sunday June 23, 10:45am @ TBC (WA)
vs. Vic Country | Saturday June 29, 10:45am @ TBC (WA)

TBC = to be confirmed.

>> FULL FIXTURE: 2024 AFL Under 16 & 18 National Championships

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments