2024 AFLW Under 16s All-Australian team announced

CHAMPIONS South Australia have topped the 2024 AFL Women’s Under 16s All-Australian team nominations with with seven players, four more than any other state or Academy. Behind the Croweaters was the likes of Brisbane Lions Academy, Vic Country and Western Australia who all had three, making up 16 of the 23 players.

GWS Giants Academy and Vic Metro had two apiece, while Tasmania, Sydney Swans Academy and Northern Territory all had one player. The Gold Coast Suns Academy was the sole side without a representative in the 23-strong squad.

South Australian MVP Emily Mableson captained the hypothetical team, with Croweaters’ mentor Bek McMahon taking the reins as coach. Pool A Best and Fairest winner Molly Ferguson was named vice-captain and in the midfield, while Pool B Best and Fairest winner Darcie Prosser-Shaw also made the starting team on a wing.

Nine of the 10 MVP winners slotted into the side, with Tasmania’s Matilda Lange and Northern Territory’s Peggy Rock making the team as bottom-age prospects who are eligible to compete at the carnival again next year. Vic Country’s Ava Bilyk and Vic Metro’s Brylee Anderson were their state’s MVP winners, while West Australian counterpart Lexi Strachan slotted onto the bench. Sydney Swans Academy Ashleigh Barlow was the other MVP winner in the side, named at full-back.

Among the other six South Australians to make the All-Australian team were current SANFL Women’s capped players in South Adelaide duo Emma Charlton and Layla Vizgaudis, as well as Central District’s Miyu Endersby. The other three yet to debut at the top state league level are Norwood’s Charlee Brooksby, North Adelaide’s Polly Turner and Glenelg’s Georgie Fielder.


B: Ava Bilyk (Vic Country) – Ashleigh Barlow (Swans Academy) – Rose Bell (Giants Academy)
HB: Brylee Anderson (Vic Metro) – Miyu Endersby (South Australia) – Emily Mableson (South Australia (c)
C: Mia Geere (Lions Academy) – Georgie Fielder (South Australia) – Darcie Prosser-Shaw (Giants Academy)
HF: Sophia Green (Vic Country) – Polly Turner (South Australia) – Charlee Brooksby (South Australia)
F: Emma Charlton (South Australia) – Harlee McIlwain (Lions Academy) – Tiama Collard (Western Australia)
R: Cara Dziegielewski (Western Australia) – Matilda Lange (Tasmania Devils) – Molly Ferguson (Lions Academy) (vc)
INT: Ruby Geurts (Vic Country) – Bailee Martin (Vic Metro) – Peggy Rock (Northern Territory) – Lexi Strachan (Western Australia) – Layla Vizgaudis (South Australia)

Coach: Bek McMahon (South Australia)


Brisbane Lions Academy: Molly Ferguson (Maroochydore)
Gold Coast Suns Academy: Stephanie Aguinaldo (Broadbeach)
GWS Giants Academy: Darcie Prosser-Shaw (Baulkham Hills)
Northern Territory: Peggy Rock (Nightcliff)
South Australia: Emily Mableson (West Adelaide/Unley)
Sydney Swans Academy: Ashleigh Barlow (Figtree)
Tasmania: Matilda Lange (Kingborough)
Victoria Country: Ava Bilyk (Geelong Falcons/St Mary’s)
Victoria Metro: Brylee Anderson (Eastern Ranges/Healesville)
Western Australia: Lexi Strachan (West Perth/Ocean Ridge)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments