Card recap: XFN 367 – Morrow takes out heavyweight tournament

XTREME Fight Night returned this weekend to host its 2020 heavyweight kickboxing tournament, with Rob Morrow crowned champion as the last man standing. The 47-fight MMA veteran took out the 10-thousand dollar prize after wading through three opponents, capped off by a split decision victory over Demorio Dennis in the final.


An incorrectly written scorecard made for near-disastrous live coverage, as the blue corner of Dennis was initially announced the victor, before a correction ensured Morrow was given his rightful nod.

The deciding bout was a close one, with Morrow’s more effective strikes up top ultimately getting the points over Dennis’ volume. There was seldom a distinctive blow thrown as both men wore the effects of their three-fight night, making for even back-and-forth action.

After taking little-to-no damage in his quarter final clash with Mike Cook, which he won via KO early in Round 3, Morrow was pushed all the way by Randy Blake in their semi-final matchup. Controversy reigned as a late slip from Blake counted as a knockdown, seeing the scorecards read 28-apiece all round.

In a one-minute overtime round, Morrow turned up the heat to push his total to a superior 38-37 according to two judges. Blake looked like being a frontrunner to that point having picked apart Eric Lunsford with his kicking game, but fell victim to one bad decision in a close fight.

Dennis’ path to the final came through Rasheem Jones at the semi final stage. It was a dangerous fight for the eventual finalist as Jones had just defeated 2019 champion, Terrence Hodges, but he got the job done across three rounds having blanketed his opponent’s range and upheld a greater pace.

The card was also filled out by a trio of amateur MMA bouts. All of them ended in stoppages; with Nick O’Brien declared the winner due to doctor stoppage after two rounds, Sampson Tabbytite accelerating his path to turning pro with a body kick in Round 1, and Daniel Olajiga pulling off a surprise second round guillotine submission.



Rob Morrow def. DeMorio Dennis | Decision (split) 29-28, 28-29, 29-28


Rob Morrow def. Randy Blake | Decision (split, overtime) 28-28, 28-28, 28-28/37-38, 38-37, 38-37

DeMorio Dennis def. Rasheem Jones | Decision (unanimous) 29-28, 30-27, 30-27


Randy Blake def. Eric Lunsford | Decision (unanimous) 29-28, 30-27, 29-28

Rob Morrow def. Mike Cook | KO (punches) 0:33 Rd 3

Rasheem Jones def. Terrence Hodges | Decision (unanimous) 30-27, 30-27, 30-27

DeMorio Dennis def. Haze Wilson | TKO (punches) 1:49 Rd 1


Nick O’Brien def. James Warren | TKO (doctor stoppage) 5:00 Rd 2

Sampson Tabbytite def. Jad Ahlkatib | TKO (body kick) 0:46 Rd 1

Daniel Olajiga def. Znick Ferrell | Submission (guillotine) 1:35 Rd 2

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments