2022 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 4

AFTER a big win over West Perth, Claremont topped the Rookie Me Central West Australian Football League (WAFL) Women’s Team of the Week nominees with six, one more than fellow winners East Fremantle and Swan Districts and narrow losers Peel Thunder. Subiaco had the remaining three players in the 24-player squad, with the Falcons not recording a member this week.

Claremont ruck Adele Arnup and midfielder Sasha Goranova both had big games to earn Team of the Week honours, whilst they contributed three of the front six. Brooke Whyte and Eva Campo both provided targets up forward, whilst Tessa Doumanis slotted four goals in the Tigers’ win. Rounding out the half dozen players is young gun Emily Elkington who made her way onto the bench, whilst Mikayla Western was named as an emergency.

Swan Districts State Academy member Tara Stribley earned the honour of captain for Round 4 this week, with her club captain Jessica Cox alongside her in the middle. Also representing the black and whites in the side is 200-gamer Lauren Osborne, fellow defender Jaime Henry, and forward Taylah Edwards after a three-goal haul on the weekend. Swans midfielder/forward Tyla Fitzgerald was named as one of the three emergencies.

East Fremantle defender Alex Williams is on the last line, with Larissa Versaci and Mylee Leitch on either half-forward flank. Fellow forward Julia Teakle caught the eye inside 50 with her leading patterns, whilst ruck-forward Georgie Cleaver played her best game of the season predominantly in the latter role, and joined Teakle on the six-player bench. Sharks ball-winner Amber Kinnane rounded out the three emergencies.

Though suffering a big loss to Swan Districts, Subiaco still managed the three players, with Jayme Harken and Tarnica Golisano returning into the team for yet another week. Helen Taylor comes into the Team of the Week for the first time this year after a standout performance for the Tigers to round out the 24-player squad.


B: Lauren Osborne (Swan Districts) – Cassie Davidson (Peel Thunder) – Alex Williams (East Fremantle)
HB: Jayme Harken (Subiaco) – Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Jaime Henry (Swan Districts)
C: Tara Stribley (Swan Districts) (c) – Jess Cox (Swan Districts) – Kaitlyn Srhoj (Peel Thunder)
HF: Larissa Versaci (East Fremantle) – Brooke Whyte (Claremont) – Mylee Leitch (East Fremantle)
F: Taylah Edwards (Swan Districts) – Kate Bartlett (Peel Thunder) – Tessa Doumanis (Claremont)
R: Adele Arnup (Claremont) – Chloe Wrigley (Peel Thunder) – Sasha Goranova (Claremont)
INT: Eve Campo (Claremont) – Georgie Cleaver (East Fremantle) – Emily Elkington (Claremont) – Tarnica Golisano (Subiaco) – Helen Taylor (Subiaco) – Julia Teakle (East Fremantle)

EMG: Mikayla Western (Claremont) – Tyla Fitzgerald (Swan Districts) – Amber Kinnane (East Fremantle)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments