2022 AFLW All Australian Squad revealed

THE AFLW All Australian squad has been revealed, with plenty of old and new faces in the squad.

Unsurprisingly, top two sides Adelaide and Melbourne dominate the 40-player squad, with six Crows and seven Dees making the cut.

Emma Kearney‘s run of making the squad every year continues, while Karen Paxman‘s streak has ended, with the dominant Dee overlooked this time around.

There are a number of new faces in this year’s squad, including Shelley Heath and Tilly Lucas-Rodd. Tara Bohanna‘s remarkable debut season has gone to another level, after her efforts were also recognised with selection.

For the first time in an AFL Women’s sense, the name All Australian is not completely accurate, with a pair of Irish stars making the squad.

Cora Staunton and Orla O’Dwyer have both been included, and if they make the final team they will not only be the first Irishwomen to make the AFLW All Australian team, but will replicate the feats of countryman Jim Stynes, who made the AFLM All Australian teams in 1991 and 1993.

From here, the initial squad of 40 will be whittled down to a final team, which will be revealed on Tuesday night at the W Awards.

2022 All Australian Squad

Adelaide: Sarah Allan, Anne Hatchard, Eloise Jones, Ebony Marinoff, Erin Phillips, Ashleigh Woodland
Brisbane: Emily Bates, Greta Bodey, Natalie Grider, Orla O’Dwyer
Carlton: Kerryn Harrington, Mimi Hill, Breann Moody
Collingwood: Jaimee Lambert, Ruby Schleicher
Fremantle: Ebony Antonio, Kiara Bowers, Hayley Miller
Geelong: Amy McDonald, Maddy McMahon
Gold Coast: Tara Bohanna
GWS: Cora Staunton
Melbourne: Libby Birch, Tyla Hanks, Tayla Harris, Shelley Heath, Kate Hore, Daisy Pearce, Lauren Pearce
North Melbourne: Jasmine Garner, Emma Kearney, Ash Riddell
Richmond: Katie Brennan, Monique Conti, Rebecca Miller
St Kilda: Tilly Lucas-Rodd
West Coast: Emma Swanson
Western Bulldogs: Ellie Blackburn, Kirsty Lamb, Bonnie Toogood

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments