SANFL releases 2022 state Under 18 squad

THE South Australian National Football League (SANFL) has today released the 2022 South Australian Under 18 squad, set to compete in this year’s National Championships across June and July. The 40-player crop is packed with key position talent, with a whopping 17 players measuring up at over 190cm.

>> SCROLL to see the full squad

Among them are West Adelaide giants Harry Lemmey, Tom Scully and Harry Barnett. A top pick contender, Lemmey has plied his trade at the League and Reserves levels this season, while Scully’s Under 18 goalkicking feats have seen him rocket up draft boards, and Barnett’s Round 7 performance proved a breakout effort.

The trio counts towards Westies’ seven squad members, which includes prolific midfielder Kobe Ryan, who recently made his senior debut. Unsurprisingly, North Adelaide’s undefeated Under 18s side contributed the most players of any club, with eight in line to earn representative honours in the famous tri-colour jersey.

There is some AFL club-tied talent on offer across South Australia’s squad, headlined by Adelaide father-son candidate Max Michalanney. The 192cm defender from Norwood is set to be a key figure for his state. Crows fans will also recognise the name Isaac Keeler, with the talented ruck-forward an exciting watch out of their Next Generation Academy (NGA).

The likes of Mattaes Phillipou and Luca Slade also lay claim to names synonymous with SANFL fans, and the latter is one of 10 bottom-aged (2005-born) talents to have earned selection. There are a few potential early picks among them, namely Glenelg utility Ashton Moir, South Adelaide forward Jack Delean, and West Adelaide defender Will Patton.

Along with Phillipou, Lemmey, Ryan, and Michalanney, Sturt midfielder Nick Sadler has climbed his way up the grades in 2022, as has strongly built Woodville-West Torrens ball winner Adam D’Aloia. The Eagles prospect has already impressed at the level, tasked with a prominent midfield role in last year’s Under 19 lineup.

Coming together to train on May 16 (next Monday), the squad’s first assignment at this year’s championships is a clash with the Allies at Thebarton Oval on June 19. Matches against Vic Country (June 26), Vic Metro (July 17), and Western Australia (July 24) will follow, with the Metro meeting looming as South Australia’s sole interstate fixture.


Adam DeakinCentral16/8/0419187
Jayden MatzCentral23/4/0519682
Trent TattoliCentral14/4/0517967
Brodie TuckCentral6/12/0419491
Archie LovelockGlenelg19/12/0417872
Ashton MoirGlenelg15/4/0518677
Ben RidgwayGlenelg12/1/0518178
Jakob RyanGlenelg20/9/0418977
Jake WalkerGlenelg17/7/0418380
Max BlackerNorth14/7/0417063
Billy DowlingNorth1/7/0418779
Isaac KeelerNorth23/4/0419888
Shaun BennierNorth24/2/0419390
Luke HarveyNorth22/2/0518176
Jack HodgesNorth17/3/0419281
Kane McAuliffeNorth1/3/0518790
Kelsey RypstraNorth2/5/0417257
Phoenix FosterNorwood12/9/0419685
Max MichalanneyNorwood26/2/0419278
Harvey PedlerNorwood16/10/0418682
Tyson WallsNorwood5/3/0417172
Jack DeleanSouth15/4/0518173
Charlie DuncanSouth12/1/0418570
Will VerrallSouth11/3/0419992
Jaiden MagorSouth16/2/0418579
Kyle MarshallSouth10/4/0419879
Nick SadlerSturt8/1/0417973
Alex HoltSturt28/1/0518073
Luca SladeSturt3/11/0518069
Harry BarnettWest22/1/0420292
Will PattonWest4/1/0519174
Kobe RyanWest17/2/0418272
Oscar KregarWest1/7/0419079
Harry LemmeyWest30/1/0419994
Darcy MinchellaWest7/8/0419675
Thomas ScullyWest2/11/0420289
Nathan BarklaWoodville-West Torrens30/3/0418674
Adam D’AloiaWoodville-West Torrens9/4/0418686
Blake HansenWoodville-West Torrens8/4/0417871
Mattaes PhillipouWoodville-West Torrens27/12/0419083

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments