Midfield guns lead AFLW 22Under22 nominations

A TRIO of elite AFL Women’s players headline an incredibly talented 22Under22 nomination list for Season 7. Richmond’s Monique Conti, GWS’ Alyce Parker and Essendon’s Madison Prespakis were all among the 44-player squad released by the AFL today.

Minor premiers Brisbane received the most nominations with five players earning a spot in the extended squad, as Carlton, Geelong and the Western Bulldogs all had four players included. Six first-year players earned spots in the squad, including the top two picks in this year’s draft, Montana Ham and Jasmine Fleming.

Alongside the trio of players set to earn their fourth 22Under22 jumper, there are a number of well-established players in the squad. Competition leading goalkicker Jesse Wardlaw, dual premiership player Danielle Ponter, two-time club best and fairest winner Georgia Patrikios, and former number one draft picks, Nina Morrison and Ellie McKenzie all made the cut.

The midfield in particular is stacked with talent considering the likes of Dees duo Tyla Hanks and Olivia Purcell, and Carlton duo Abbie McKay and Mimi Hill are all eligible. Three rucks were nominated for the team, with Tahlia Hickie, Mim Strom and Lauren Bella hoping to earn their place in the final side.

Eight players were deemed dual position players who could be named in both the midfield and forward lines. Geelong pair Morrison and Rebecca Webster, Brisbane Isabel Dawes, Collingwood’s Mikala Cann, Port Adelaide’s Hannah Ewings, Western Bulldogs’ Rylie Wilcox, and Hanks.

To be eligible for the 22Under22 team, players must have played in 50 per cent or five games, of Season 7, and are 22 or under for the entirety of the season, inclusive of the Grand Final. The team will be named based on a fan vote, with supporters able to pick their own 22Under22 from the names required from November 9-16. At the conclusion of the voting a compiled side will be announced.

Image credit: AFL Women’s

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments