2023 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 7

FOUR impressive wins has seen the four victors dominate our Rookie Me Central WAFL Women’s Team of the Week for Round 7. Of the 24 players in our side, 19 of them came from the Round 7 victors, with Claremont, Swan Districts and Subiaco all recording five players, and South Fremantle having the four. East Fremantle was the only losing side with multiple representatives, as Peel Thunder, East Perth and West Perth each had one.

Subiaco skipper Tarnica Golisano was handed the captaincy duties again for our hypothetical team after a dominant 35-disposal display against Peel Thunder. The midfielder was joined in the team by forwards, Fina Dethlefsen and Kelsey Patterson, as well as ruck-forward Jessica Ritchie who all hit the scoreboard. Tiah Toth completed the Lions nominees with a place on the bench.

Ritchie is not the only tall in the side, with South Fremantle ruck Ariana Hetherington named as the starter in that position. She is one of four Bulldogs in the squad, alongside defenders Kloe Bassett and Pia Durk, and forward Bethany Bond.

Swan Districts shared the spoils around with the Black Ducks’ ruck Sarah Wielstra named on the bench alongside West Coast AFLW-listed Abbygail Bushby. Midfielder Tyla Fitzgerald played her best game of the season to be named in the starting side, with forwards Courtney Zappara and Taylah Edwards inside 50 after multiple goals in the win over East Perth.

Claremont’s victory over West Perth also yielded a variety of Tigers, with impressive midfielder Jasmin Stewart named on-ball and the vice-captain of the team. Fellow Tigers midfielder Jayme Harken was named in the centre and Kate Orme at half-back. Claremont has a couple of players on the bench in Adele Arnup and Jacinta Valentini to complete the lineup.

The remaining five players come from the losing four sides, with East Fremantle duo, Jae Flynn and Beth Beckett both making it. The sole club representatives are all in the back six with Greta McKinley (Peel Thunder), Brooke Hongell (West Perth) and Sarah Madden (East Perth) rounding out the 24-player squad.

The three emergencies for Round 7 were South Fremantle midfielder Liusaidh Gilchrist, West Perth winger Jeevna Heer and Claremont defender Claire Ortlepp.


B: Brooke Hongell (West Perth) – Sarah Madden (East Perth) – Pia Durk (South Fremantle)
HB: Kloe Bassett (South Fremantle) – Greta McKinley (Peel Thunder) – Kate Orme (Claremont)
C: Jae Flynn (East Fremantle) – Jayme Harken (Claremont) – Tyla Fitzgerald (Swan Districts)
HF: Courtney Zappara (Swan Districts) – Bethany Bond (South Fremantle) – Fina Dethlefsen (Subiaco)
F: Taylah Edwards (Swan Districts) – Jess Ritchie (Subiaco) – Kelsey Patterson (Subiaco)
R: Ariana Hetherington (South Fremantle) – Tarnica Golisano (Subiaco) (c) – Jasmin Stewart (Claremont) (vc)

INT: Adele Arnup (Claremont) – Beth Beckett (East Fremantle) – Abbygail Bushby (Swan Districts) – Tiah Toth (Subiaco) – Jacinta Valentini (Claremont) – Sarah Wielstra (Swan Districts)

EMG: Liusaidh Gilchrist (South Fremantle) – Jeevna Heer (West Perth) – Claire Ortlepp (Claremont)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments