2023 AFL Under 18 All Australian team announced

THE 2023 AFL Under 18 All Australian team has been announced, featuring 23 of the nation’s best performed prospects from this year’s carnival. After winning their maiden title on the end of a historic undefeated streak, the Allies dominate with eight members in the side.

>> How it happened: 2023 AFL U18 National Championships

Larke Medallist Ryley Sanders has been named as captain, while Allies mentor Mark McVeigh was the natural choice of coach. All five Most Valuable Players (MVPs) – Connor O’Sullivan (Allies), Sid Draper (SA), Harley Reid (Vic Country), Ollie Murphy (Vic Metro), and Daniel Curtin (WA) also earned selection.

>> Remember the names: 2023 AFL U18 MVPs

Reid, the consensus number one prospect in this year’s draft crop, is now a dual Under 18 All Australian alongside arguably his closest competitor for said mantle, Jed Walter. A trio of bottom-agers – Draper, Levi Ashcroft, and Finn O’Sullivan will hope to recreate the same feat next year as top-agers.

>> Profiled: All 31 title-winning Allies squad members

The remainder of the team is stacked with draft eligible talent. Among them is ruckman Ethan Read, who took out the Hunter Harrison Medal as the best player in the Academy Series. He and Sanders lead a midfield six owned by Allies players, with WA’s Clay Hall being the only exception.

A selection panel comprising of Kevin Sheehan (AFL Talent Ambassador), Tarkyn Lockyer (AFL National Academy Coach/Manager), and AFL recruiters Adrian Caruso (GWS GIANTS), Kade Nanscawen (Gold Coast SUNS), David McMullin (Fremantle) and Stephen Wells (Geelong Cats) compiled the squad.

>> Profiled: 2023 AFL U16 All Australian team


B: Will Patton (SA) – Connor O’Sullivan (ALL) – Ollie Murphy (VM)
HB: Riley Hardeman (WA) – Daniel Curtin (WA) – Archie Roberts (VM)
C: Jake Rogers (ALL) – Ryley Sanders (ALL) – Colby McKercher (ALL)
HF: Sid Draper (SA) – Jed Walter (ALL) – Koen Sanchez (WA)
F: Zane Duursma (VC) – Harley Reid (VC) – Nick Watson (VM)
FOL: Ethan Read (ALL) – Clay Hall (WA) – Caiden Cleary (ALL)

INT: Levi Ashcroft (VM), Will Green (VM), James Leake (ALL), Finn O’Sullivan (VC), George Stevens (VC)

Coach: Mark McVeigh (Allies)
Captain: Ryley Sanders (Allies)


Allies (8): Caiden Cleary, James Leake, Colby McKercher, Connor O’Sullivan, Ethan Read, Jake Rogers, Ryley Sanders, Jed Walter
Victoria Metro (5): Levi Ashcroft, Will Green, Oliver Murphy, Archie Roberts, Nick Watson
Victoria Country (4): Zane Duursma, Finn O’Sullivan, Harley Reid, George Stevens
Western Australia (4): Daniel Curtin, Riley Hardeman, Clay Hall, Koen Sanchez
South Australia (2): Sid Draper, Will Patton

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments