Conti finally crowned League’s best after stellar season

AFTER being the bridesmaid last season, Richmond star Monique Conti has finally been crowned the best in the league, winning the 2023 AFLW Best and Fairest Award.

She won with 23 votes, which was seven votes ahead of a group of players in second spot, which included the likes of Amy McDonald, Chloe Molloy, Ash Riddell and Claudia Whitfort.

She polled the maximum three votes in many of the games she played and got votes in just about every match, wrapping up the award with two rounds worth of counting left.

It caps off another stellar year for the star, who really excelled in the Tigers’ midfield. She has been around the top of the counting in several previous Best and Fairest Awards, but finally broke through to win this year It was not her only award for the evening, also earning another All-Australian blazer.

The All -Australian team was one of several other key awards awarded on the night. Dee Kate Hore was named captain of the side, while Bomber Bonnie Toogood was named vice-captain

AFLW All Australian Team 2023

FB: Charlotte Thomas & Chelsea Biddell

HB: Emma Kearney, Emma O’Driscoll & Eilish Sheerin

C: Niamh Kelly, Mon Conti & Sophie Conway

HF: Chloe Molloy, Bonnie Toogood & Kate Hore

F: Dakota Davidson &  Danielle Ponter

R: Ally Morphett, Jas Garner & Ebony Marinoff

INT: Charlie Rowbottom, Eden Zanker, Ally Anderson, Ash Riddell & Laura Gardiner

The Rising Star Award was also awarded, and it went to GWS’ Zarlie Goldsworthy. The young forward won the award by one vote over Sydney’s Ally Morphett, with the rest of the top five being Ella Roberts, Matilda Scholz and Jasmine Fleming.

There were a number of other minor and predetermined awards awarded on the night.

The Mark of the Year went to Courtney Hodder while the Goal of the Year went to Caitlin Greiser.

Melbourne was finally awarded the McClelland Trophy, while two of its stars Hore and Eden Zanker were awarded their Leading Goalkicker medals.

Meanwhile Kellie Nolan from the Maroubra Saints was awarded the Community Coach of the Year, while the Umpiring Rising Star is boundary umpire Melissa Sambrooks.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments