2024 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 3

MORE than 70 per cent of this week’s Rookie Me Central WAFL Women’s Team of the Week representatives came from the four winning sides following their big wins on the weekend.

Claremont finished with five after knocking off East Fremantle in a grand final rematch, while South Fremantle, West Perth and Swan Districts all managed the four representatives.

East Fremantle had the most of the losing sides with three players in the 24-strong squad, while Subiaco had two. Peel Thunder and East Perth managed one representative in the team.

Reigning Dhara Kerr Medallist Jayme Harken is captaining the hypothetical Round 3 side this week following a blistering 32-disposal, three-mark, six-tackle and six-inside 50 game against the Sharks.

The Claremont midfielder was joined in the middle by ruck Jessica Ritchie, while Claire Ortlepp (half-back) and Jacinta Valentini (half-forward) also made the side. Midfielder Emily Bonser has had a terrific start to the season and deservedly secured a spot on the interchange.

West Perth is the only other remaining undefeated side this season with winger Taylor Ferguson having the ball on a string. She amassed 30 disposals, took four marks and had six inside 50s for the game. Also dominating that game was midfielder Megan Kauffman, midfielder-forward Imahra Cameron and hard nut Emily Bennett.

South Fremantle’s dominant win over Peel Thunder yielded four representatives, largely in the forward 50. Poppy Stockwell made the team for a third consecutive week, while being joined by fellow forwards Noa McNaughton and Ariana Hetherington. Top-age midfielder Molly O’Hehir also made it onto the bench.

Swan Districts was the last remaining winning side to record four players in this week’s team. Tall defender Isabella Edgley anchors at half-back, while Kayley King and Lily Paterson provide run between the arcs. Also adding some X-factor in the front half is Hope Ugle-Hayward who slotted into a forward pocket.

Despite going down in defeat the Sharks still had three representatives in this week’s team, highlighted by State Academy members, Zippy Fish and Natasha Entwistle in the starting 18. Midfielder Chloe Wrigley earned a spot on the bench after finding plenty of the footy and applying defensive pressure around the coalface.

The remaining four players came from the other three losing sides with Subiaco duo Beatrice Devlyn and Madison Dodd, Peel Thunder’s Ebony Dowson and East Perth’s Taylah Suda all slotting into the side.

Cutting down the shortlist to just three additional emergencies was tough, but in the end they ended up being Swan Districts’ Carys D’Addario, East Perth’s Layla Firns and South Fremantle’s Liusaidh Gilchrist.


B: Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Taylah Suda (East Perth) – Natasha Entwistle (East Fremantle)
HB: Claire Ortlepp (Claremont) – Isabella Edgley (Swan Districts) – Beatrice Devlyn (Subiaco)
C: Kayley King (Swan Districts) – Megan Kauffman (West Perth) – Taylor Ferguson (West Perth) (vc)
HF: Imahra Cameron (West Perth) -Poppy Stockwell (South Fremantle) – Jacinta Valentini (Claremont)
F: Noa McNaughton (South Fremantle) – Ariana Hetherington (South Fremantle) – Hope Ugle-Hayward (Swan Districts)
R: Jessica Ritchie (Claremont) – Jayme Harken (Claremont) (c) – Zippy Fish (East Fremantle)
INT: Emily Bennett (West Perth) – Emily Bonser (Claremont) – Madison Dodd (Subiaco) – Molly O’Hehir (South Fremantle) – Lily Paterson (Swan Districts) – Chloe Wrigley (East Fremantle)

EMG: Carys D’Addario (Swan Districts) – Layla Firns (East Perth) – Liusaidh Gilchrist (South Fremantle)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments