2024 Vic Country Under 18 squad announced

VIC Country has announced its 32-player squad for the 2024 AFL Under 18 National Championships, with its opening match on the horizon this weekend. The Victorians begin their campaign with a clash against South Australia at IKON Park this Sunday.

>> SCROLL for the full squad & fixture

Despite currently sitting second last on the Coates Talent League ladder, GWV Rebels have contributed a high of nine players to the squad, including two AFL Academy members. Murray Bushrangers also boast a strong contingent with six representatives, along with Dandenong Stingrays (five).

Along with the remaining four Country regions, two players have been selected out of the Metro-aligned Oakleigh Chargers – Jasper Alger and Finn O’Sullivan. The latter is among seven National Academy members to feature in a roster which is heavy on top-agers (2006-born).

Only four bottom-agers (2007-born) made the cut; namely Willem Duursma, Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves, Riley Onley, and Ben Rongdit. Dandenong Stingrays tall Riak Andrew stands alone as the sole over-ager (2005-born) to feature, and is the brother of rising Gold Coast Sun, Mac.

Among the quirks of the squad, twins Jack and Matt Whitlock have been included. While capable of playing at opposite ends of the field to each other, they have most recently featured in the same forward 50 for Murray – to decent levels of success, too.

Among the club-tied players to feature is River Stevens, the son of former North Melbourne champion Anthony. Duursma is the brother of three currently listed AFL/W players, while Harry Charleson‘s brother Lachie was drafted to Port Adelaide last year, and O’Sullivan is a cousin of Carlton’s Sam Walsh.

After their opening game against the Croweaters on Sunday, Vic Country has a 20-day break until its away trip to Western Australia on June 29. The Big V then takes on the Allies on July 7 in Queensland, before finishing with a derby against Vic Metro on July 14 back at IKON Park.


AFL Academy members:

Archer Day-Wicks, Jonty Faull, Sam Lalor, Harvey Langford, Xavier Lindsay, Noah Mraz, Tobie Travaglia*, Jack Whitlock*, Matt Whitlock*

* – denotes injury replacement

By age:

2005-born (over-age): 1
2006-born (top-age): 27
2007-born (bottom-age): 4

By region:

Bendigo Pioneers: 4
Dandenong Stingrays: 5
Geelong Falcons: 4
Gippsland Power: 2
GWV Rebels: 9
Murray Bushrangers: 6
Oakleigh Chargers: 2


Bendigo Pioneers (4):
James Barrat
Archer Day-Wicks
Connor Evans
Tobie Travaglia

Dandenong Stingrays (5):
Riak Andrew
Noah Hibbins-Hargreaves
Cooper Hynes
Harvey Langford
Noah Mraz

Geelong Falcons (4):
Xavier Ivisic
Lachie Jaques
Ben Rongdit
River Stevens

Gippsland Power (2):
Willem Duursma
Xavier Lindsay

GWV Rebels (9):
Floyd Burmeister
Harry Charleson
Jonty Faull
Oliver Hannaford
Sam Lalor
Mitchell Lloyd
Jack Ough
Flynn Penry
Rhys Unwin

Murray Bushrangers (6):
Joe Berry
Riley Onley
Cohen Paul
Oliver Warburton
Jack Whitlock
Matt Whitlock

Oakleigh Chargers (2):
Jasper Alger
Finn O’Sullivan


vs. South Australia | Sunday June 9, 12:30pm @ IKON Park
vs. Western Australia | Saturday June 29, 12:30pm @ Claremont Oval
vs. Allies | Sunday July 7, 10:35am @ Brighton Homes Arena
vs. Vic Metro | Sunday July 14, 10:35am @ IKON Park

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments