2024 SANFLW Team of the Week: Round 12

SOUTH Adelaide has dominated the Round 12 SANFL Women’s Team of the Week with a season-high seven players in the side. The Panthers lead Central District (four), Sturt and Woodville-West Torrens (three each), while Glenelg, Norwood and West Adelaide have two apiece and North Adelaide has one.

Skipper for the week is Central District’s Katelyn Rosenzweig who slammed home four goals from six scoring shots, and collected 21 disposals, eight marks – two contested – and five inside 50s. Like Rosenzweig, South Adelaide forward Emily Brockhurst also had a day out in front of goal with 17 disposals, six marks – one contested – and four goals from seven scoring shots to be named vice-captain of the hypothetical team.

Brockhurst is joined in the forwardline by Breakthrough Player of the Week Emma Charlton, while the Panthers have two defenders in the side as well. Jaslynne Smith and Esther Schirmer form a strong combination, while Jordann Hickey has been named on the bench. Soriah Moon was an easy choice for starting ruck this week, while Nikki Nield slotted into the rover position.

Central District captain Shelby Smith was one of three Dogs in the Team of the Week spin alongside Rosenzweig and defender Charlotte Riggs. The fourth Central District player in the Round 12 squad was Jasmine Evans who kicked three goals, while from their opponents, both Jess Bates and Violet Patterson made it into the side yet again.

Woodville-West Torrens skipper Annie Falkenberg was named off half-back this week, with teammates Klaudia O’Neill (full-forward) and Leah Cutting (interchange) the other players in the side. Norwood had the two from that game with defender Sophie Arkun and wing Tahlita Buethke both impressing.

In the Sturt-West Adelaide game, the Double Blues had an even team contribution across the board. Isobel Kuiper and Alisha Gepp were squeezed to the bench due to the strength of the on-ball group, while India Rasheed slotted into half-forward. West Adelaide captain Madi Russell was named at full-back, while onballer Zoe Venning earned a start in the midfield.

North Adelaide’s Ella Quinn was the sole Roosters’ representative for Round 12, while her teammate Sarah Steele-Park was one of three emergencies. The other two were West Adelaide’s Iilish Ross and Eagles’ Poppy Waterford.


B: Sophie Arkun (Norwood) – Madison Russell (West Adelaide) – Jaslynne Smith (South Adelaide)
HB: Annie Falkenberg (WWT Eagles) – Charlotte Riggs (Central District) – Esther Schirmer (South Adelaide)
C: Violet Patterson (Glenelg) – Shelby Smith (Central District) – Tahlita Buethke (Norwood)
HF: India Rasheed (Sturt) – Katelyn Rosenzweig (Central District) (c) – Emma Charlton (South Adelaide)
F: Emily Brockhurst (South Adelaide) (vc) – Klaudia O’Neill (WWT Eagles) – Jasmine Evans (Central District)
R: Soriah Moon (South Adelaide) – Zoe Venning (West Adelaide) – Nikki Nield (South Adelaide)
INT: Jess Bates (Glenelg) – Leah Cutting (WWT Eagles) – Alisha Gepp (Sturt) – Jordann Hickey (South Adelaide) – Isobel Kuiper (Sturt) – Ella Quinn (North Adelaide)

EMG: Iilish Ross (West Adelaide) – Sarah Steele-Park (North Adelaide) – Poppy Waterford (WWT Eagles)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments