2024 WAFLW Team of the Week: Round 15

EAST Fremantle’s massive win over East Perth earned the Sharks a league-high five players in our Round 15 WAFL Women’s Team of the Week. The Sharks finished one ahead of Claremont and Swan Districts, while opponents South Fremantle and Peel Thunder both recorded three players. Other losing sides Subiaco and West Perth had two, with East Perth having a sole representative.

This week’s captain was South Fremantle’s Poppy Stockwell after an impressive three-goal haul from 20 disposals, seven marks, five tackles and five inside 50s in her side’s victory over Peel Thunder. She was one of three Bulldogs in the team, joined by Madizen Wilkins and Liusaidh Gilchrist, with the latter also being the side’s vice-captain.

East Fremantle’s five player haul includes a complete full-forward line, with three players starting on-field. Chloe Reilly, Sarah Wielstra and Grace Freeman proved too much to handle for East Perth with three goals apiece, while midfielders Beth Beckett and Chloe Wrigley rounded out the Shark contingent in the Round 15 team.

Second placed Claremont crucially got past Subiaco and had four representatives in this week’s team, with versatile utility Anjelique Raison and Rebecca Tuckey doing well out defence. Ruck Jessica Ritchie and Sarah Viney also made the side via the bench.

Swan Districts as the other team to manage four players for Round 15, with defender Isabella Edgley a marking force back there. Midfield duo Carys D’Addario and Lily Paterson were also busy against West Perth, and winger Kayley King slotted into that role.

In terms of the losing sides, Peel Thunder managed three players with defenders Ebony Dowson and Evie Cowcher named in the back 50 and Holly Britton on the wing. Up forward, West Perth’s Mia Russo and East Perth’s Lucy Greenwood were named on respective half-forward flanks.

Another Falcon in Emily Bennett made it onto the bench with Subiaco winger Hayley Corlett, while the classy Krstel Petrevski was named in the centre. Outside the 24-player squad was a trio of emergencies, who were East Fremantle’s Alicia Blizard, Claremont’s Jayme Harken and South Fremantle’s Alyssa Smogavec.


B: Ebony Dowson (Peel Thunder) – Anjelique Raison (Claremont) – Rebecca Tuckey (Claremont)
HB: Madizen Wilkins (South Fremantle) – Isabella Edgley (Swan Districts) – Evie Cowcher (Peel Thunder)
C: Holly Britton (Peel Thunder) – Krstel Petrevski (Subiaco) – Kayley King (Swan Districts)
HF: Mia Russo (West Perth) – Poppy Stockwell (South Fremantle) (c) – Lucy Greenwood (East Perth) 
F: Chloe Reilly (East Fremantle) – Sarah Wielstra (East Fremantle) – Grace Freeman (East Fremantle)
R: Jess Ritchie (Claremont) – Liusaidh Gilchrist (South Fremantle) (vc) – Carys D’Addario (Swan Districts)
INT: Beth Beckett (East Fremantle) – Emily Bennett (West Perth) – Hayley Corlett (Subiaco) – Lily Paterson (Swan District) – Sarah Viney (Claremont) – Chloe Wrigley (East Fremantle)

EMG: Alicia Blizard (East Fremantle) – Jayme Harken (Claremont) – Alyssa Smogavec (South Fremantle)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments