Australia vs Pakistan: ODI Series preview

THE home Summer of women’s cricket finally kicks off later today, with the series against Pakistan set to get underway in Brisbane. The first portion of the series will see a three-match one day series, with the first two set to be played in Brisbane before the series moves to Sydney.

For both countries, the series is a very handy one with points for the ICC Women’s Championships up for grabs. Pakistan is currently second on the table in that Championships after winning five of their six outings, while Australia will get their Championship campaign underway with this series.

Both sides are coming off some good form, with Pakistan coming off series wins over Sri Lanka and Ireland in the back half of last year, while Australia had a good series win over India back in December.

Although both these sides did play each other in a Twenty20 Tri-Series with Ireland just before the Commonwealth Games last year, the two teams have not played each other in the One Day International format in a while, so there is no recent history between the sides.

For the home side, it welcome back captain Meg Lanning who plays her first international matches in six months after taking a break from the sport. Kim Garth also keeps her spot in the squad after making her Australian debut in last month’s series against India. Phoebe Litchfield also makes the squad, and will be keen to really make a mark on this series.

The Pakistanis meanwhile have got a nice mix of youth and experience in their squad. Led by Bismah Maroof, they have the experience of the likes of Nida Dar complimenting the youth of the likes of Tuba Hussan.



Meg Lanning (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ash Gardner, Kim Garth, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland


Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hassan

Fixture for ODI portion of the series

16 January – Allan Border Field, Brisbane

18 January – Allan Border Field, Brisbane

21 January – North Sydney Oval, Sydney

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments