Australia vs Pakistan: T20 preview

AUSTRALIA and Pakistan have just played out a three match One Day International series, but the action does not stop there between the two countries as a three match T20 series between the pair is just about to get underway.

How the One Day Series went depends on who you ask.

If you ask an Australian it went perfectly, while if you ask a Pakistani it was far from ideal.

But, T20 is a whole new ball game, and a very different kettle of fish to One Dayers.

This series also has a very different significance for both sides.

In a matter of weeks both countries will be travelling to South Africa to compete at the upcoming T20 World Cup, so this series is perfect warm up for the two sides ahead of the massive tournament.

However, the change in format does not make things any less daunting for the Pakistanis.

The Australians are absolute masters of the T20 format, and have not lost in the format for a long time.

Not only that but it is very rare to see this Aussie side lose at home, so that just adds to the degree of difficulty for the Pakistanis.

Last time these two sides met was at the Commonwealth Games last year, when thanks to a 70 from Beth Mooney and a 78 not out and three wicket performance from Tahlia McGrath saw the Australians comfortably home by 44 runs.

Despite the One Day portion of the series wrapping up so recently, there have been a few changes to the squads of both sides.

The Australians are set to welcome back vice captain Alyssa Healy from the injury she suffered in India in December, while Georgia Wareham makes her welcome return to the Australian set up from an ACL injury.

Meanwhile for the Pakistanis Diana Baig has headed home and will miss the World Cup after injury her finger in the loss on the weekend.



Meg Lanning (c), Alyssa Healy (vc), Darcie Brown, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Tahlia McGrath, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland, Georgia Wareham


Bismah Maroof (c), Aliya Riaz, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Kainat Imtiaz, Muneeba Ali (wk), Nashra Sandhu, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Tuba Hassan


January 24 – North Sydney Oval

January 26 – Blundstone Arena

January 29 – Manuka Oval

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments