Series Preview | Australia vs India (W)

AS other countries got international series’ underway this week, it is finally the turn of the Australians and Indians to get their series underway. Tonight sees the start of a five match Twenty20 series over in the sub-continent, which will be perfect warm up for both sides ahead of next year’s World Cup.

For Australia it is a little bit of a transition period at the moment, with some new faces and a new leadership team ready to make its mark. It will be the first series with Shelley Nitschke at the helm of the Australian side on a permanent basis, after she was the temporary head coach during the Commonwealth Games earlier this year.

There is also a new leadership team on the field for this tour. With Meg Lanning still on a break and Rachael Haynes recently retired, Alyssa Healy will skipper the side this tournament, with Tahlia McGrath as her deputy.

Among the Australian squad, a few new faces are hoping to get their debuts at international level. They are teenage batting star Phoebe Litchfield, allrounder Heather Graham and ex-Ireland quick Kim Garth, who has officially swapped allegiances and is now an Aussie at international level.

The home nation has some new names too. Anjali Sarvani is a left arm seamer who has had strong domestic form and is in line for a maiden call up, while allrounder Devika Vaidya could be in line for a second ever T20 international appearance for her country after a once off appearance eight years ago. They replace Sneh Rana and the injured Pooja Vastrakar.

Although these games are quite early in the morning for those watching in Australia, Aussie fans can watch the games via Foxtel or Kayo.


Australia: Alyssa Healy (c), Tahlia McGrath (vc), Darcie Brown, Nicola Carey, Ashleigh Gardner, Kim Garth, Heather Graham, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Alana King, Phoebe Litchfield, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Annabel Sutherland

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Devika Vaidya, S Meghana, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol


December 9 (Dec 10, 12.30am AEDT) – D.Y. Patil Stadium, Mumbai

December 11 (Dec 12, 12.30am AEDT) – D.Y. Patil Stadium, Mumbai

December 14 (Dec 15, 12.30am AEDT) – Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

December 17 (Dec 18, 12.30am AEDT) – Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

December 20 (Dec 21, 12.30am AEDT) – Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments