Brown bashes Brisbane into BBL final

A RECORD-BREAKING knock from Brisbane Heat opener Josh Brown has seen his side defeat Adelaide Strikers by 54 runs in last night’s BBL|13 Challenger at Carrara Stadium. His belligerent 140 (57) is now the highest ever BBL finals score, and featured the most sixes in an individual BBL innings (12).

Brown reached triple figures in just 41 deliveries, making his century the equal-second fastest in competition history. His ton was also the first of the BBL|13 season, eclipsing the former high score (99*) set by recently departed teammate Colin Munro.

The 30-year-old’s exploits fully justified Brisbane’s decision to bat first, only a few days removed from being bowled out for 113 at the same venue. While Adelaide backed its spin duo of Lloyd Pope and Cameron Boyce, the Heat dropped leggie Mitch Swepson in favour of debuting batter Charlie Wakim.

All bar one of the Strikers bowlers – David Payne (2-17) – went the journey, leaking nearly 11 runs per over as Brown powered Brisbane to 7-214. He eventually fell to Payne, while Henry Thornton (1-34) picked up first drop Nathan McSweeney (33), who was the only other batter to reach double-figures.

Pope and Boyce picked up two wickets apiece to rip through the middle order, but the damage was already done. In response, the Strikers hardly stood a chance after Spencer Johnson dismantled their top three for figures of 3-20. Nathan McSweeney also filled his boots in the final over with 3-3.

Harry Nielsen (50 off 33) and Thomas Kelly (41 off 24) formed Adelaide’s only points of resistance, though the required rate proved too much in the face of consistent wickets. The Strikers were skittled for 160 with a single ball to spare, ending their remarkable run of five straight wins.

Having started the season at 1-4 and planted to bottom spot, Adelaide ended up making a terrific run to finals and knocked off Perth away in last week’s Knockout. The table-topping Heat will now go on to face Sydney Sixers at the SCG on Wednesday night, chasing their second BBL title.



– Highest score in BBL|13
– First & only century in BBL|13
– Equal-second fastest BBL century
– Highest ever BBL finals score
– Most sixes in an individual BBL innings (12)


RESULT: Brisbane Heat won by 54 runs.
POTM: Josh Brown (Brisbane Heat)
BAT FLIP: Brisbane Heat won & elected to bat.


Brisbane Heat:
Josh Brown 140 (57), Nathan McSweeney 33 (29), Max Bryant 9 (5)
Nathan McSweeney 3-3 (0.5), Spencer Johnson 3-20 (4), Xavier Bartlett 1-30 (4)

Adelaide Strikers:
David Payne 2-17 (3), Lloyd Pope 2-39 (4), Cameron Boyce 2-50 (4)
Harry Nielsen 50 (33), Thomas Kelly 41 (24), Matt Short 19 (9)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments