Tigers beat Bulls to stay in the hunt

TASMANIA kept its hopes of a One-Day Cup final alive after securing a bonus point win against Queensland at The Gabba yesterday. The Tigers rolled the Bulls for 150 in tricky conditions before cantering past the total with five wickets and 23 overs to spare.

Caleb Jewell helped mow down the runs with 61 off 68 atop Tassie’s batting order, earning Player of the Match honours. He spearheaded his side through difficult moments, combining with Mac Wright (36 off 45) in a handy 50-run partnership before Beau Webster (20* off 17) finished the job.

Queensland’s decision to bat first could have proven much more shrewd if its top order had gone on with an array of starts. Five of the Bulls’ top six batters passed 15 runs before being sent on their way, with opener Max Bryant (32) leading the way in a modest total.

Jack Clayton (24) was fresh off a Sheffield Shield ton against the Tigers, but his dismissal sparked a major collapse in the lower order. The Bulls lost their last six wickets for just 25 runs within a whirlwind seven overs, and no member of the tail hit double-figures.

Webster (2-16) made important breakthroughs atop the order, removing Bryant and first drop Matthew Renshaw, while Iain Carlisle swept the tail up en route to match-best figures of 3-39, as every Tasmanian bowler snared a wicket.

Currently fourth, Tasmania will need to nab another bonus point victory against reigning champion Western Australia to secure a top two finish. The Tigers’ hopes also hinge on ladder leader Victoria taking down the second-placed New South Wales.

All teams have just one fixture left to play before the standalone final on February 25. Queensland will round out its season in a bottom-of-the-table clash against South Australia, who remain winless after going down to Victoria yesterday.


RESULT: Tasmania def. Queensland by 5 wickets with 23 overs remaining.
POTM: Caleb Jewell (Tasmania)

Queensland won the toss & elected to bat.

Queensland 10-150 (35.3)
Max Bryant 32 (50), Jack Clayton 24 (38), Jimmy Peirson 22 (25)
Iain Carlisle 3-39 (8), Beau Webster 2-16 (5), Riley Meredith 2-25 (7)

Tasmania 5-153 (27)
Caleb Jewell 61 (68), Mac Wright 36 (45), Beau Webster 20* (17)
Liam Guthrie 1-15 (4), Matt Kuhnemann 1-24 (3), Gurinder Sandhu 1-28 (8)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments