Australia lifts fourth Under 19 World Cup trophy

AUSTRALIA has once again trumped India in an ICC men’s final – for the third time within a year – after taking out the Under 19 World Cup overnight. Hugh Weigben‘s side became the competition’s fourth Australian title holder with a 79-run win at Willowmoore Park.

India remains out in front with a record five junior world championships, but fell short of defending its 2022 crown. The result marked Australia’s first victorious Under 19 World Cup since Mitch Marsh led the side in 2010. Fittingly, he captained the senior outfit to a T20 win on Sunday night.

Having won the toss and batted first, the Aussies posted 7-253 with four of the top six batters posting over 40 runs. Harjas Singh (55 off 64) peeled off the lone half-century of the innings, while replacement player Oliver Peake proved the ultimate finisher with his unbeaten 46 (43).

Meanwhile, first drop Weibgen managed 48 (66), spending plenty of time at the crease alongside Harry Dixon. The latter put together 42 (56) after losing his opening partner for a duck in the third over. Both batters were removed by Naman Tiwari (2-63), while Raj Limbani starred with 3-38.

Australia’s venomous pace attack then went to work, defending the total by claiming all 10 wickets for just 174 runs in 43.5 overs. Player of the Match Mahli Beardman was outstanding for his 3-15, while Callum Vidler (2-35) struck twice, and spinner Raf MacMillan (3-43) complimented the quicks.

With India hardly looking likely in response, Australia finished its campaign on South African soil unbeaten, beating two subcontinental sides in the finals. The success makes for another trophy in the nation’s cabinet having recently won titles in all senior men’s formats.


RESULT: Australia def. India by 79 runs.
POTM: Mahli Beardman (Australia)

Australia won the toss & elected to bat.

AUSTRALIA 7-253 (50.0)
Harjas Singh 55 (64), Hugh Weibgen 48 (66), Oliver Peake 46* (43)
Raj Limbazi 3-38 (10), Naman Tiwari 2-63 (9), Saumy Pandey 1-41 (10)

INDIA 10-174 (43.5)
Adarsh Singh 47 (77), Murugan Abhishek 42 (46), Musheer Khan 22 (33)
Mahli Beardman 3-15 (7), Raf MacMillan 3-43 (10), Callum Vidler 2-35 (10)

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments